My Virtual Beet Box

A blog… that’s like a baby.

This is a commitment. It’s going to be a pain, a blessing, a great creative outlet, and a lot of work. Not to mention how responsible I’m going to have to become to be proper caregiver for this “thing.”

(Ooo. Please don’t mention to the “baby” that I just referred to it as a “thing.” Not everybody can have a gender you know.. blogs are iffy. I’m a new parent. Don’t judge.)

With those concerns addressed, I’d like to address a more important topic with this first blog: the blog title. More specifically my love for beets.  Here’s a list of things that you just have love when it comes to beets…

  1. You know that first time you had canned beets or pickled beets? There’s good news. Real beets are WAAAAY tastier than that.
  2. Beets are a beautiful color. Not only is the color nice to look at, but it’s also very easy to transfer – to your face, your clothes, your tabletop, etc… now everything you own – bEAutiful!
  3. Beets are good for you. I can even cut and paste something from a site I found on “google” to prove it – Beets are highly nutritious and “cardiovascular health” friendly root vegetables. Certain unique pigment antioxidants present in root as well as top greens have found to offer protection against coronary artery disease and stroke, lower cholesterol levels in the body and have anti-aging effects. See, I’m sure they know what they’re talking about… Please save your praise for my scientific dietitian knowledge later. Yes, I too can use the google.
  4. They’re definitely not going to make you fat eating them – 43 calories 100g serving.
  5. Beets turn your poop a very nice purple color. It’s a lovely change from the standard brown. This can also be nice because you time how long it takes for your gut transit. No gastric emptying study necessary. Just eat beets and count the days until you see purple poop.
  6. They can also turn your urine pink! The first time I had real beets, I had no idea what to expect the next day. I remember coming out of the bathroom into my office that I share with a vegetarian co-worker and she took one look at my face and knew something was wrong. I thought I was peeing blood at the young age of 25… I wasn’t sure what I was going to do. I felt fine. How could this be? She asked me if I had by chance had any beets recently… I said yes. The world made sense again. Apparently this is standard procedure for beet eaters. I was just new to the club.
  7. Beets turn an average salad into something beautiful. Here’s the recipe for the last beet salad I made at home… I wish I would have taken a picture, but in my defense, I had no idea I would be blogging this soon.

Strawberry Beet Spinach Salad

  • Baby Spinach Leaves
  • 1 Roasted Beet (I used the pressure cooker and cut the time in half)
  • 4-5 Strawberries, chopped
  • 1 T Feta Cheese
  • Red onion, slivers
  • 1 T chopped Walnuts
  • Raspberry Blush Vinegar
  • Herbed Pork Loin, cut in cubes (optional – if you want it to be an entrée salad. Any meat would work)

Toss the ingredients together. Makes 1-2 large servings. Enjoy.

Next time, I’ll have pictures.

2 thoughts on “My Virtual Beet Box

  1. Lol, I love the Beet Box…I’m thinking this is going to turn into something EXTREME-ly awesome…can’t wait! ;-)

Leave a Reply

