Breaking News: Sleeping Helps Rid Body of Exhaustion

The Importance of Sleep

“18% of adults in America are not getting enough rest.”

Not enough rest is defined as less than 6 hours per night. What are you getting? I’m an eight hours per night girl, but last night I only got 5 hours of sleep.

Coffee – The Antidote to Tiredness

I probably have only drank coffee once this year and that was based out of desperate need. Coffee and carbonated beverages are not my thing. Despite my lack of preference for coffee, today I considered it. Usually it only takes something ridiculous like 2 ounces to zap me back to life, but I got a second wind and I was able to resist the drugz today.

Let’s get something straight before you start making a whole bunch of assumptions – I don’t avoid coffee because “it’s bad” or because I think you shouldn’t drink it. I just don’t find that I need it because I typically get enough rest. Trust me, you do not want to see me on coffee. I cannot shut up. ;)

I also don’t drink caffeinated beverages because it tricks me into believing that I really don’t need sleep. If there’s one thing I believe in, it’s that we have to start listening to our body’s natural signals. Coffee masks a signal.

There are so many distractions and miscues out there. I try to do my part to get rid of some of them. For instance, I don’t own a TV. I’ve never been one to sit and watch a lot of TV, but just by having one, I found that I would turn it on and “unwind.” The problem with that was that I wasn’t really unwinding. I was just distracting myself from the extent of my tiredness. That’s not a solution to the problem. I’m tired, so I’ll distract myself from how tired I really am and stay awake looking at a screen showing people pretending to be living real life. Nope. That doesn’t make sense to me.

  1. Problem: I’m tired.
  2. Solution: Sleeping.

It’s a reasonable solution.

Find a way to get rid of your distractions keeping you from a good night’s sleep. I’m sorry if it’s not convenient for you to go to bed at a decent hour of night, but you need it. Your body will function better when it’s well rested instead of just stimulated. You have repairs to do – it can only happen while you’re sleeping.

I realize right now I am talking to myself when I write – please sleep, Sarah. It’s been an action packed weekend for me and I haven’t really been getting as much rest as I need. My body is tired.

So, forgive me… but tonight I’m going to sleep.

Here’s an interesting article on the importance of sleep for you to ponder until tomorrow…

If you’re having problems controlling your weight and you consistently get less than 6 hours of sleep at night, it’s possible your lack of sleep could be causing you to have an increased BMI and decreased satiety at your meals.

http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/releases/244200.php

Leave a Reply

