Blueberry Pancakes and Beautiful Mornings

I’m a Morning Person.

Especially when these are involved…

Did you know I don’t set an alarm to wake myself up. None. You know why? I don’t need one. I always wake up with the sun. It’s pretty easy – the sun has been rising at 6am, so I have been waking up at 6am. It works for me.

One of the nicest things about waking up that early is the ability to make a wonderful breakfast. Many people will never know the beauty of a good breakfast while the sun rises through the trees. They’ll never know the moment when the fog lifts and the morning is fresh and new or how tasty these blueberry pancakes are while you’re watching it all happen.

New possibilities. New life. Old life continuing in new ways. Fresh new food to get you going. Something to look forward to at the start of your morning.

You can miss out on a lot if you’re sleeping.

Blueberry Pancakes

I woke up thinking about these pancakes – which is not surprising, because I eat all the time in my sleep. Not actual food, but pretend dream food. I’ll be sleeping and smacking my lips like I’m eating something all night long. I don’t want to know what this subconsciously means about me. Save your comments. ;)

I assume everyone here will be wanting to try these at home. Let me share a few quick pancakes tips with you.

  • You do not need “Bisquick” to make pancakes. In fact this is the most ridiculous idea ever. Bisquick takes the freedom away from you – it’s a mix. You don’t know what’s in it. It’s hard to change it. AND… it’s completely unnecessary.
  • Pancake batter should be runny enough to where it spreads out, but not so runny as to make your pancakes paper thin… unless that was your goal.
  • Any one on a low sodium diet – realize this: Pancakes and quick breads are going to be higher in sodium. This is because of the BAKING SODA involved. Salt is not the only form of sodium. Baking soda is “Sodium Bicarbonate.” Since, these foods are higher in sodium, do not pair it with ham or sausage which would likely make you go over on your sodium budget and start retaining fluid.
  • Pancakes will tell you when they’re ready to flip. Look for the bubbles coming up to the surface and popping. That means they’re happy and they want to turn over.
  • There are no rules for pancakes. Get creative.

The Pancake Bubbles

I will include a picture of the pancake bubble forming. There are just a few in this picture because I was afraid I would be so busy taking pictures that I would burn the pancakes. So, this is the early stage of bubble popping.

Mmm! Look at all of those BLUEBERRIES!

Nom Nom Nom.

Recipe: Blueberry Wheat Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 3/4 C Whole Wheat Flour
  • 3/4 C All Purpose Flour
  • 2 Tbsp Sugar
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Fresh Ground Nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Cardamom (if available)
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 Large Eggs
  • 1 1/2 C Milk
  • 2 T Melted Butter
  • 2 Cups of Blueberries, divided
  • 1 Lemon
  • 1 T sugar or syrup

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together eggs, milk, and melted butter.
  3. Add to dry ingredients and whisk until just blended. Fold in half of Blueberries. Save the rest for topping.
  4. Preheat a nonstick griddle or skillet over medium-high heat. Lightly spray or brush with oil. Pour batter onto griddle for desired pancake size.
  5. Cook until bubbles form on top, about 2 minutes.
  6. Turn and cook until other side is golden, about 1 minute longer.
  7. Serve with fruit topping. Don’t use syrup. You’re not a hummingbird.
Fruit Topping:
Combine fruit, juice of one lemon and 1 Tbsp syrup or sugar and cook over medium heat until liquid is bubbling and thickening. Pour onto pancake.
Enjoy with some form of protein and fat. I chose toasted almonds and 2 fried eggs.

A Note to the Diabetics: Remember, a four inch pancake is about 15 grams of carbohydrate. If you’re making pancakes… I think I would make them about that big to make it easy on yourself, wouldn’t you? Almonds and Eggs would be free foods.
The blueberry topping is 15 for the blueberries, 15 for the tablespoon of syrup or sugar. That’s 30 grams of carbohydrate for the whole pan. Divide that by how ever many servings you divide it up into. I divided it in half.
2 four inch pancakes – 30 grams
1/2 of fruit topping – 15 grams
2 Eggs – free
10-12 Almonds – free

2 thoughts on “Blueberry Pancakes and Beautiful Mornings

Leave a comment