Mediterranean Breakfast Sandwich

I think that it’s important to share meals.

This week, I got to share a fantastic breakfast with a friend of mine. Here’s to you.

We used what we had available at the time:

  • 2 slices Jewish Rye Bread, toasted (30 grams carb)
  • 1/4 C Hummus (8 grams carb)
  • Spring Mix Lettuce
  • Sliced Cherry Tomatoes
  • 1 T Red Onion, chopped
  • 3 T Chopped Green Bell Pepper
  • 2 Whole Eggs
  • 1 T Feta Cheese
  • Sprinkle of Mint

Basically, we cooked the onions in a pan with a teeny bit of olive oil, then added the green peppers and last adding tomatoes. I removed these from heat and mixed the eggs together in a bowl. I added the eggs to the hot pan. When the scrambled eggs were mostly cooked, I added back in the vegetables.

After toasting the bread, I spread hummus on both sides. Then I layered the spring mix. The cooked egg/vegetable mixture went on top of the lettuce and I sprinkled it with feta cheese crumbles and mint. Sooooooo good!

In fact I ate the exact same thing the next morning except I added a few slices of cucumber, left my vegetables raw, and made my eggs over medium because I didn’t have as much time.

If you’re diabetic and trying to get up to 45 grams of carbohydrate, add a half of a medium/large fruit OR 1 cup of milk to drink.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Mediterranean Breakfast Sandwich

  1. Pingback: thebeetingheart is Getting Older… | thebeetingheart

Leave a Reply

