What I Learned from a Harvard Nutrition Professor

Healthy Kitchens, Healthy Lives

This past spring, I went to a conference in Napa Valley that answered a lot of questions for me. The conference was put on by the Culinary Institute of America and The Harvard School of Public Health. It was kind of expensive to attend, but I figured this is my chance to go an ask some questions from the experts.

Ooo! Harvard… fancy.

Anyways… chances are, if I had these questions, you might have them as well. So, I’m going to periodically share different things that I learned at this conference under the title “What I Learned from a Harvard Nutrition Professor.” Savvy?

QUICK DISCLAIMER: As with any research, these are speculations or inferences based on data. There’s always the possibility of a confounding variable or unknown contributor – a.k.a. All nutrition/science “facts” are subject to change as we learn more about the way things work. 

Fun Fact for Today:

So saith the Harvard Nutrition Professor….

” If everyone would commit to doing 5 things, we could lower the incidence of heart disease in this country by 82%”

You want to know those five things?

  1. Drink one alcoholic beverage every other day (or a total of 3.5 per week)
  2. Non-smoker
  3. Normal BMI (18.5-25)
  4. Good Diet (No trans fat, low glycemic load, high fiber, healthy fats, 5-8 servings of fruits and vegetables per day)
  5. 30 minutes of moderate activity every day

Pretty easy. You know what percentage of people in the United States are meeting these five goals?

Three percent.

Woooooow! I think we can do better, guys.

I can remember leaving the conference and calling my boyfriend to tell him about it. I said, “The bad news for you is that you have to start eating better and exercising regularly. But that’s going to be okay, because you’re dating a dietitian now. The bad news for me is that I have to start drinking more alcohol. But it’s okay because I’m dating a Catholic now.”

(WINK)

What does a dietitian eat?

How about…

  • Roasted Turkey Breast with Garlic, Rosemary, Salt and Pepper (0 carbohydrate)
  • Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Onions with drizzled Olive Oil and Honey (1/2 cup = 15 grams of carbohydrate)
  • Strawberry Kale Salad with Pecans, Green Onions and a light sprinkling of Feta Cheese (1 to 2 cups = 5 grams of carbohydrate)
  • Whole Wheat Sourdough Bread fresh out of the oven (not pictured – 30 grams of carbohydrate)
  • Cacao Mint Iced Tea from Teavana, not sweetened (0 carbohydrate)

Coincidentally… it’s the same thing these girls had for supper…

The only thing that would have made this better is if we went for a 30 minute walk after our meal. As it is… I haven’t exercised yet today. So, I suppose I am not in the 3 percent after all.

I think I’ll blog the recipe on how to make the Strawberry Kale Salad tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

