Reinventing Leftovers: Garden Kale Salad

You don’t have to eat the same thing over and over again. 

I live alone and cook for one a lot of the time. For this reason, a lot of people ask me how I manage it.

I manage to cook because it’s really not an option for me. I have to cook because I’m unwilling to “swing by McDonald’s and pick something up on my way home from work.” I don’t want to order a pizza. I don’t want to call for take out. I DO want to eat. Therefore, I must cook.

You know why I won’t just order out? Because I’m a dietitian and dietitians are food snobs. Most dietitians don’t try to be snobby, but we know too much. There’s no joy in sub-par convenience food when you know what it’s doing to the inside of your body. I also don’t order out because I’m not made of money and I’m not interested in gaining weight.

But, the main reason is still because I prefer not to continuously damage the inside of my body through my food choices. I want to put things in my body that help it become healthier, not things that will make a mess I have to clean up later.

That doesn’t mean I don’t ever splurge. I do splurge on things I find worthy. I’ll clean up the mess from delicious thing like… German Chocolate Brown Butter Cookies! (waggle eyebrows – you get what I mean?)

Because of my snobbish ways, I’ve had to learn how to reinvent leftovers. 

The most important part of reinventing leftovers is to store excess foods in their basic forms. It’s not as easy to reinvent a casserole where everything is mixed together (for THE REST OF TIME). It would be much easier to have those ingredients separated.

For this reason, I stored my leftover kale (halfway prepared with the lemon juice, olive oil, salt, pepper, and garlic from yesterday) separately. I used what was needed for the salads and put the rest in the fridge.

On my way home from work today, I stopped at a farmers market and found inspiration for my leftovers. It’s because of that nice farmer that I can offer you readers such a beautiful blog post. Thank you, Mr. Farmer with the best bell peppers in the world. You make the world a better place by contributing your lovely produce.

Recipe: Garden Kale Salad

Ingredients

  • Leftover Kale Salad with lemon juice, garlic, salt, pepper. (see previous post for instructions)
  • Leftover Turkey Breast. cut into strips
  • 1/2 Tomato, cut
  • 1/2 Cucumber, sliced
  • 1/4 Bell Pepper, sliced
  • 2 Hard Boiled Egg
  • 2 Small Potatoes, boiled
  • Olive Oil
  • Rosemary
  • Garlic
  • salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions

1) Boil Eggs for 10 minutes. Remove from water, rinse with cold water, peel, and cut.

2) Chop Vegetables and set aside.

3) Boil potatoes in salted water until able to be pierced by a fork. Remove and drain.

4) Heat Skillet over high heat, when pan is hot – add 1-2 Tbsp Olive Oil and then immediately add boiled potatoes. Do not stir potatoes. Let them sear for 3-4 minutes and then turn.

5) Sprinkle with Rosemary, Garlic, Salt, and Pepper. Remove from heat with adequately seared.

6) Assemble salad. Enjoy

I know I had no trouble finishing mine. Especially since it had the best bell pepper ever GROWN in the HISTORY of all bell peppers.

Leave a Reply

