German Chocolate Brown Butter Cookies

I might be crazy.

I was in the living room reading my book this week when I heard something come from the kitchen…

“Sarah…..”

“Sarah… I’m an unmade cookie and I’m right here waiting for you. You’re hungry for cookies, right?”

“Sarah…. put down the book. Seriously, it’s cookie time.”

I don’t know why I tried to resist it. For a good 30 minutes I stayed put on the couch. Willing the “voices” in my kitchen to be quiet. I do not need a cookie. What I NEED is to sit here and read my book.

Cookies are trouble. Books are good.

Fortunately, the cookie voice won me over and I made possibly one of the best cookies I’ve ever tasted. You can taste them too if your cookie voice is as active as mine.

Brown Butter Cookies

Let me start by saying, if you’ve never had a “brown butter” cookie, you don’t know what you’re missing. They are INCREDIBLE. Especially if you’re like me and you like sweet + salty combinations. This is not a SUB-PAR cookie. When adding the words “brown butter” to any cookie description, you’ll know that we are talking about AWESOME cookies.

So… brown butter cookies are not hard.

You’re going to start by burning the butter. This sounds all wrong, but trust me – it’s very all right. In fact, it’s incredibly all right. Use your sniffer to tell when the butter goes from smelling neutral to burning. RIGHT WHEN THE SMELL CHANGES, it’s done. Take the butter off the stove and let it cool a little bit while you get the other ingredients ready.

Important note: When you add the brown butter to the recipe, leave all the little bits and pieces at the bottom of the mixture in the pan and toss it out later. If a few black specks get into your cookies, it’s okay. You just don’t want to add all of them.

Beyond that fact, the cookie recipe is really quite easy. I will warn you though. The recipe makes QUITE A FEW cookies. If you don’t want to be stuck with that many cookies, you might want to third the recipe. That’s what I did.

Scaling Down Recipes is not Rocket Science.

Anything that’s hard to divide by three (like 2 eggs or 1 tsp) just get it close and it’ll come out fine. This is not rocket science, folks.

2 eggs divided by three = 0.66 of one egg

You know what you do? Break one egg. Scramble it with a fork. Add 2/3 of that mixture. Toss the rest. Unless you’re from the Depression Era – in which case, you should save that 0.33 egg for breakfast tomorrow morning.

1 tsp baking soda divided by three = 1/3 tsp

I don’t have a 1/3 tsp measurement spoon. So… once again, I’ll use my wee little brain to figure out a solution. What if I did a slightly heaping 1/4 tsp? Or possibly fill the 1tsp one third of the way? Or filled 1/2 tsp a smidge under? ANY OF THESE SOLUTIONS WILL WORK.

With all that said, I think you’re ready. It’s time for our recipe.

Recipe: German Chocolate Brown Butter Cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 C unsalted butter, browned (see above for instructions)
  • 1 1/2 C dark brown sugar
  • 2/3 C sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 C oat flour (you can make this in the food processor)
  • 3 1/2 C rolled oats (not instant)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 C raw pecans
  • 1 C shredded coconut
  • 1 C Ghirardelli Dark Chocolate Chips

Directions

  1. Brown Butter in a skillet over medium high heat. Set aside.
  2. Beat browned butter and sugars until smooth.
  3. Slowly mix in eggs and vanilla
  4. Mix dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Slowly mix dry ingredients with butter an sugar combination.
  5. Mix in “add-ins” (a.k.a. chocolate chips, coconut, pecans)
  6. Bake at 375 degrees F for 10-12 minutes.
  7. Enjoy.

Note to the Diabetics: Each cookie is about 15 grams of carbohydrate when dropped into 1″ balls of dough on cookie tray. See below for approximate size.

I must say… I enjoyed these cookies more than most.

Leave a Reply

