Zucchini Week: Chocolate Zucchini Bran Muffins

Zucchini week has been a really good thing for me. 

Before this week, I would have never believed that I would be garnishing a dessert with raw zucchini slices. Not in a million years. But that’s exactly what I did and it was amazing. Let’s not kid ourselves. Zucchinis are incredibly versatile!

This week I realized that zucchini could replace…

  1. the bowl for your casserole
  2. a portion of your potato “chips
  3. the lettuce in your “salad
  4. the calories in your dessert

It’s impressive.

You’re going to love the grand finale of ZUCCHINI WEEK…

I know I told you I was going to show you new ways to incorporate zucchini in your cooking BEYOND zucchini bread/cake. But, I would not be serving the masses if I neglected this aspect.

Here is your proper zucchini dessert… all dressed up with dark chocolate, walnuts and Chobani Yogurt topping.

Recipe: Chocolate Zucchini Bran Muffins

Ingredients

  • 3 C Fiber One or All Bran type Cereal
  • 3 C Milk
  • 2/3 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/3 C Splenda
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1/3 C Oil
  • 1/3 C Chobani Greek Yogurt, plain
  • 1 tsp Vanilla
  • 1 1/3 C Wheat Flour
  • 2/3 C Cocoa Powder
  • 1tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Baking soda
  • 2 tsp Baking powder
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 2.5-3 C Shredded Zucchini
  • 2/3 C Dark Chocolate Chips

Directions

  1. Heat milk in a saucepan over med high heat until just boiling. Remove from heat. Add Bran Cereal and Milk to large mixing bowl and let sit for 10 minutes.
  2. In a separate bowl, mix together wet ingredients: sugar, Splenda, eggs, oil, vanilla, and Chobani Greek yogurt.
  3. In another separate bowl, mix together the dry ingredients: flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon.
  4. Take a whisk and mash/stir the bran cereal and milk mixture until you can no longer see individual pieces of cereal. Add the mixed bowl of wet ingredients. Stir well.
  5. Add the dry ingredients and stir until just mixed.
  6. Fold in the shredded zucchini and chocolate chips.
  7. Grease muffin tin or put down muffin cups and fill ¾ full. Bake at 375 degrees F for 15 minutes.
  8. Once cooled, top with Greek Yogurt, powdered sugar, sliced zucchini, and chocolate chips. Enjoy!

Makes 32 muffins

Nutrition information: serving 1 muffin, 105 calories, 4.5 grams fat, 201mg sodium, 18 grams carbohydrate, 4 grams fiber, 3 grams protein.

Topping Nutrition Information: serving as seen in photo, 73 calories, 4 grams fat, 12 mg sodium, 6 grams of carbohydrate, 1 gram fiber, 4 grams protein.

A Note to the Diabetics: You can afford this dessert pretty easily. 173 calories and 23 grams of carbohydrate with 5 grams of fiber. That means you’d only have to count 17 from your budget. You’re welcome. ;)

2 thoughts on “Zucchini Week: Chocolate Zucchini Bran Muffins

  1. The recipe does not say if the shredded zucchini is added without squeezing out the liquids, or after squeezing the liquids out.
    In addition, I would like to replace the yogurt with unsweetened applesauce. Should I add 1/3 cup or lessen it to 1/4 cup since the applesauce is more liquidy than the yogurt?
    Could you let me know, as soon as possible, please. I am anxious to make these muffins.
    This recipe is the only decent one with bran, zucchini and cocoa in it that I like.

    • I did not squeeze out the liquids, but if there were liquids left in the bowl (at the bottom), I did not add them. I shredded the zucchini in a bowl and then lifted them out of the bowl and into the batter.

      I hope that helps.

      As for the yogurt, I would recommend adding greek yogurt and keeping it the same amount.

      Because I’m a diabetes educator – I will mention that I don’t think replacing applesauce for oil makes a recipe healthier – it just replaces a fat (that would help with satiety and reduce the glycemic response) with another carb (to essentially make the muffin elicit an even GREATER glycemic response).

      But, that’s just my two cents. Feel free to make them however you prefer! :)

Leave a Reply

