My Grown Up Lunch 8/14/12

This lunch may blow your mind… when you taste it. 

Let’s be honest – I made this one up in my head. I have to say – this lunch is definitely different; but, in a really good way. 

Sure, peaches and raw almonds on a sandwich with peanut butter and goat cheese may sound weird at first, but it’s really freakin delicious. Oops. Excuse me for just saying “freakin.” My mom told me when I was nine that I should consider that a curse word. Sorry for cursing, mom (she reads my blog) – but this sandwich is worth it.

The Testing Panel: PASS (with enthusiastic thumbs up)

I don’t post stuff willy nilly! There’s approval process before a new recipe can be posted on the blog. A panel of three (give or take a couple) is required to put forth their opinions.

So far, this sandwich has been sampled to my mom, my sister Bri, and my dietitian intern Courtney. They all passed it – enthusiastically! I know even the common palate will like this because Courtney doesn’t eat a lot of “weird foods” for lunch and she thought it was good. As for my mom and my sister – they raved about it.

I admit – I have NOT tried this recipe out on a male. But, if we’re being honest, most of them will eat anything you put in front of their face. So, why bother. I want to post about it now. Not next week when I might FINALLY encounter an unsuspecting male! (Ahem… not a lot of those in my life right now – if you know what I mean)

Without any further ado -allow me to introduce you to my very sophisticated and lovely 8/14/12 Grown Up Lunch… Ahem… Mrs. Almond Peach Sandwich. Clearly, she [the sandwich] is a girl.

Recipe: Almond Peach Peanut Butter Sandwich with Honey Goat Cheese

Ingredients:

  • 2 Slices Wheat Sourdough Bread from Uprise Bakery (Columbia, MO) – 40 grams carbohydrate
  • 2 Tbsp Honey Almond Goat Cheese from HyVee – non carb
  • 10 Raw Almonds – non carb
  • 1/2 Peach, sliced  from the farmer’s market- 7 grams carbohydrate
  • 1-2 Tbsp Natural Peanut Butter – non carb

Directions:

  1. Toast the bread. While still hot, spread the goat cheese and top with almonds on one slice of bread.
  2. On the other slice of bread, spread peanut butter and top with sliced peach (recommend fresh peaches as they are in season right now).
  3. Put two parts of the sandwich together and enjoy. So delicious!

A Note to the Diabetics: One Sandwich – 47 grams of carbohydrate. If you need 60 grams of carbohdyrate per meal, you could add a cup of milk to drink. Milk is always nice with peanut butter sandwiches. 

Leave a Reply

