Summer Peach Pancakes… without Syrup

I know. I know. I get on kicks. 

I use the same ingredient over and over. Last week it was zucchini and this week it’s peaches. This little “problem” of mine happens to those of us that COOK IN SEASON. If you were not aware… it’s officially peach season!

Peach Season

This means, I need to eat them. Right now. Before it passes and we have no more summer peaches.

Do yourself a favor. Go get some peaches THIS WEEKEND at your local farmers market or roadside stand and make these pancakes. You’ll be so glad you did.

Not to mention they’re really low in carbohydrate so you can have lots of them! I don’t think I have to remind you that I’m anti-syrup. Simple carbohydrates like that just don’t seem to be worth it to me anymore. Especially considering my career. I teach people how to count carbohydrates and balance meals.

Let’s review.

  • Most women need 45 grams of carbohydrate per meal.
  • Most men need 60 grams of carbohydrate per meal.
  • Most 4 inch pancakes have 15 grams of carbohydrate per pancake.
  • Most people put syrup on their pancake.
  • 1/4 C of syrup or 4 Tbsp of syrup is worth 60 grams of carbohydrate.
  • It’s hard to justify pancakes and syrup on this kind of budget with these prices.

You see! I’m right. You don’t need the syrup. Great. Let’s celebrate by learning to live without it. You won’t miss it on these pancakes. Promise.

Recipe: Summer Peach Pancakes… without Syrup

Ingredients

  • 1 C Whole Wheat Flour (95 grams of carbohydrate)
  • 1 Tbsp Brown Sugar (15 grams of carbohydrate)
  • 1 Tbsp Baking Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 C Milk (11 grams of carbohydrate)
  • 3 Tbsp Chobani Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Tbsp Melted Butter
  • 1 Medium Summer Peach (15 grams of carbohydrate)
  • 1/4 C Chobani Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp powdered sugar (5 grams of carbohydrate)
  • Walnuts, toasted

Directions

  1. Mix flour, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and brown sugar together in a medium bowl.
  2. In a separate small bowl, mix together egg, greek yogurt, milk, and melted butter.
  3. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix until just blended. Do not over mix.
  4. Chop the peach into a small dice and add to bowl, folding into batter.
  5. Heat a skillet on Medium heat and drop 1/3 C batter to make 4 inch pancakes. Flip when bubbles start to appear on the surface.
  6. Topping for one person: Mix 1/4 C greek yogurt and 1 tsp powdered sugar. Toast walnuts and keep separate.  Add to pancake with 1 slice of peach (negligible carbohydrates).

Makes 18 4″ Pancakes

A Note to the Diabetics: Let’s practice our recipe carbohydrate counting skills! The first step is to identify the ingredients containing carbohydrate. Next, add all carbohydrates together and divide by the number of servings. 

  • Flour – 95g
  • Brown Sugar – 15g
  • Milk – 11g
  • Peach – 15g

95 + 15 + 11 + 15 = 136 total grams of carbohydrate / 18 pancakes = about 8 grams of carbohydrate per pancake. (I told you these were pretty low in carbohydrate!)

I ate 6 pancakes – 48 grams of carbohydrate. Plus I also had the topping which was around 5-10 grams of carbohydrate since I sprinkled my pancakes with extra powdered sugar. All together around 58 grams of carbohydrate. Not too shabby.

I told you I like to eat! I’d only get one plate sized pancake with 1 tbsp of regular syrup for that much carbohydrate at a regular breakfast restaurant. This is much better. 

Extra Note – it’s only the Greek Yogurt that is low enough in carbohydrate we don’t need to count it. American yogurts would have to be added to your carbohydrate count. 

Enjoy your low carbohydrate, no syrup pancakes!

What if I started picketing against pancakes with syrup? Would you guys still admit to knowing me? ;)

**More importantly, today is my sister-from-another-mister’s birthday. Natalie, if you were closer, I would have made these for you this morning. Happy Birthday, Woman!**

Leave a Reply

