Airport Snacks for my TRIP TO BRAZIL

I’m going to Brazil this Thursday. Last I checked, it’s a 14 hour plane ride. 

That’s 14 hours that I could have to meet some potentially interesting people. Aaaand that’s 14 hours that I could have to potentially starve. ;)

Just kidding. I know I won’t starve if I don’t have food for 14 hours – I’m far too “well nourished” to have that happen! (WINK) But, seriously. It’s always helpful to have some snacks at the airport. That way you won’t be tempted to buy the 10 dollar airport sandwich.

” Hmm. Airport snack… what to make? What to make?”

I thought about making those protein bars from last week, but they need to be refrigerated. No… better not to risk it.

Hmm… I needed something that’s decently high calorie and mixed in nutrients (as in some carbohydrate, some protein, and some fat). Something that travels well… Ah HAH! Guess what yummy delicious food fits into that category???

NUTTY GRANOLA!

Not to mention, it doesn’t have to be refrigerated and it will probably keep for the entire two weeks I’m gone.

Nice. Nice. Nice.

Recipe: Nutty Tart Cherry Granola

Ingredients:

  • 2 Tbsp Butter
  • 2 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1/4 C Honey
  • 1/3 C Brown Sugar
  • 5-6 C Old Fashioned Oats
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 2 tsp Vanilla
  • 1 C Raw Almonds
  • 1 C Pecans
  • 1 C Walnuts
  • 1 C dried tart cherries

Directions:

  1. In a medium saucepan, heat butter, coconut oil, brown sugar, honey, salt, cinnamon and vanilla until it comes to a boil. Remove from heat. Stir well.
  2. In a large bowl, mix together oats and nuts.
  3. Pour sticky brown mixture from saucepan onto oats and stir well. The oats should start to form clumps in the bowl, but should not seem too gooey.
  4. Spread oat mixture onto a baking sheet and bake at 325 degrees F for 22 minutes.  Do not overbake or your nuts will start to burn. The granola will not be crunchy when you remove it from the oven. It gets crunchy after it cools on the pan.
  5. While granola is still hot, toss it on the pan with a spatula to get it loose and then DO NOT TOUCH until completely cooled. This should ensure that you have some large clumps of granola.
  6. After granola is cooled, mix in one cup of dried tart cherries. If wanting to keep granola crunchy – either store separately or bake dried cherries with granola to dry them out a bit more.
  7. TIP: Serve with greek yogurt for a quick balanced meal.

A note to the Diabetics: 1/3 C granola = 15 grams of carbohydrate. Do not go to town and fill up on this as a snack. Instead, use granola to accompany/top your low fat, low carb, high protein plain greek yogurt. If desired, add 1 tsp of Splenda to sweeten greek yogurt. 

A Good Snack for Travelling

I’m ready to go. Now, who wants to come with me?

3 thoughts on “Airport Snacks for my TRIP TO BRAZIL

  1. I hope you enjoyed your airplane snack!! There better still be some left for me when you get back!! :) If not you will just have to make more… Oh darn!! I love you girl!

Leave a Reply

