Trust

I don’t know why things happen the way that they do in life, but sometimes you just have to roll with it. 

Last January, I started planning a trip to Brazil with a friend of mine I met surfing in Hawaii. At the time, we were both on vacation. She was from Canada and I was from Missouri. We met a really nice couple from Brazil staying in our hostel that mentioned we should plan on coming down to Rio de Janeiro for our next vacation. We agreed and made big plans to surf all day and hang out at night when our friends would be off work. (They’re both TV soap opera actor/actress – go figure.)

For 4 months, I waited for the perfect opportunity to buy my plane ticket to Rio. During this time, I would text my friend from Canada and we would, in all capital letters, text about how excited we were to go to Brazil in the fall. Sometimes we would mention it on facebook and our Brazilian friend would like our status or join in on the excited, all caps, messages.

Everything was good. Everyone was on board. 

In May, I bought my ticket. I texted my friend to let her know that I had just bought it. I waited two days and finally she responded, she couldn’t go. At that point, I remembered my words to my mom as I was purchasing my thousand dollar ticket when I asked her if she thought I should pay an extra 60 dollars for travel protection in case of cancellation. She asked me if I thought I would cancel. I said, “No. There’s no way I’m letting anything keep me from going to Brazil. I’m going.” I also remembered the clause when I received confirmation for my ticket – any cancellations without travel protection available up to 24 hours after purchase. Well… this was 48 hours from purchase.

“There’s no way I’m letting anything keep me from going to Brazil” is the statement that sealed me in and those are the words that are pushing me into a new adventure… by myself.

Once I realized I would be traveling alone and by myself for most of the day in a dangerous major city where I did not speak the native language, I stopped my all caps text messages and facebook statuses. I was no longer excited for my trip – I was scared.

I actually dreaded it for a couple of months. I dragged my feet on getting my VISA and waited to pack until the last minute. I knew I would go, but I didn’t want to go. I knew I would go because I know I’m not the kind of person to cave into fear. I’m the kind of person that thinks things happen for a reason and God never gives you more than you can handle.

For whatever reason, I’m meant to go to Brazil by myself. I might be robbed. I might be kidnapped. I might be killed. I might be bitten by a shark. BUT…

I also might have an amazing trip. I might be able to do things and meet people that I otherwise wouldn’t have bothered to do or notice. I might be pushed outside of my comfort level. I might have crazy adventures that I’ll never forget. I might learn important life lessons. I might be at the right place in the right time.

You just don’t know.

I do know intuition is one of the ways God communicates with me. I’m receptive to listening (most of the time) and sometimes the hints are subtle. Sometimes they are not.

I leave for my 14 hour plane trip in 4 hours. *sigh* My comfort is in the fact that I don’t know what’s going to happen. My comfort is in the fact that there is no place I could possibly travel that God couldn’t/wouldn’t reach me. God is everywhere. I cannot escape Him or travel apart from Him. That’s a lucky thing.

I only share this with you to let you know that the next two weeks I won’t be at home cooking. I’ll likely be posting “travel/trip updates” instead.

Trust.

That’s going to be important in the next 14 days. Don’t worry about me, though. I’ve got angels to meet me and guide me along the way.

I requested it.

2 thoughts on “Trust

  1. Very cool Miss Sarah. I echo many of your sentiments often in my Dave-less, flying solo new life I’m still struggling to figure out.

    I’ve asked Dave to protect you from harm on your trip, so you’ve got a lot of powerful “stuff” on your side.

    I know you will have an awesome adventure – cause you are my AWESOME friend!!

    Love you!

    Carol A. Smart

    “Embrace the journey…”

  2. I am praying for you to not only be safe from permanent harm, but also to experience all the joy and wonder that God has planned for you. You can also never go anywhere that your father’s love doesn’t go with you.

Leave a Reply

