Day 11: Rio de Janeiro

Ask and you shall receive.

Yesterday, I was slightly bummed because I moved to a new hostel and wasn’t really clicking with anyone. I usually have no troubles making friends, but in this particular hostel they all seem to congregate in the parlor where they are allowed to smoke. I’m not so keen on that.

I found myself a little sad that I would spend my last 3 days in Rio without my friends (they’ve all left on flights home already). True, I could make new friends, but they’d only last 2-3 days – hardly worth be going into a cloud of smoke. I said a quick prayer that God would send me friends at some point that day.

I decided to make the best of it and take a trip to my favorite cafe in Rio to chill out. As I was leaving, some guys asked me what I was doing and said they had the same plans. Would I wait for them? Sure!

What started as a day alone turned into a day with 9 other friends. Not bad.

Sometimes all you have to do is ask.

Leave a Reply

