Good Friends and Mesquite Roasted Cauliflower

Here’s how you know you have a good friend…

Last week I invited some friends over for supper. It’s always a gamble when you’re trying to decide what to make because everyone has different preferences. Instead of fixing meals around preferences, I just make sure I have a variety of different foods.

Here’s what I settled on for last weeks dinner party:

  • Sauteed Chicken with Caramelized Onion and Mushroom Sauce
  • Roasted Asparagus
  • Mesquite Cauliflower
  • Pear and Blue Cheese Salad with a Light Raspberry Vinaigrette

The only trouble was… (out of four guests) apparently two didn’t like pears, three didn’t like blue cheese, one despised cauliflower. One of those people didn’t like all three.

Well, come on! That’s a rough crowd. What can you do though. I couldn’t go back in time and make new things. Plus, I knew that sometimes dinner parties are a great way for people to try old things in a new way. So, I trudged on. I didn’t rush to the store and buy all new things. I stayed the course.

And you know what, it was a good thing. 

In the end, EVERYONE enjoyed the pear and blue cheese salad. That means I opened up the category of pears and blue cheese for future eating experiences. N(o)ice!

As for the other, the one person that didn’t like cauliflower was willing to at least try a bite of it.

The verdict: She still doesn’t like cauliflower. And that’s OKAY.

Everyone is allowed to have their own opinion about things. As long as it’s an informed opinion, I don’t mind if it’s different than mine. She ate more of the other sides and I was happy with double cauliflower on my plate. :)

Here’s the lesson in the story: It’s a big deal that she tried it. 

In my book, that simple act makes all the difference. If she hadn’t tried it, a few undesirable things would have probably happened…

  1. I wouldn’t have believed her when she said she didn’t like it.
  2. I would have probably lost some respect for her as an eater.
  3. I would have felt bummed out and disrespected as a cook/entertainer.
  4. I would have been less likely to invite her to future dinners.

BUT, because she tried it, we didn’t have to go through any of those things.

The moral of the story is pretty simple: trying things is something small that makes a huge difference.

And, I have good friends that will eat whatever I fix because they trust me.

So… this cauliflower actually is pretty good. It’s especially good if you’re not like my friend who thinks all dishes with cauliflower sprouted from inside of a dirty sock. (I still love you, Mandi!)

You’ll probably want to make this for your friends.

Recipe: Dirty Sock Cauliflower

Recipe: Mesquite Roasted Cauliflower

Serves 4-6

Ingredients:

  • One Head of Cauliflower, cut into large pieces
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  • McCormick Mesquite Grill Seasoning
  • 1/2 C Sharp Cheddar Cheese, shredded
  • 1-2 Tomatoes, cut into large cubes

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. Place cut cauliflower into glass baking dish. Drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle salt and pepper. Generously sprinkle McCormick Mesquite Grill Seasoning.
  3. Roast in oven, uncovered, for 20 minutes or until tops begin to brown.
  4. Remove from oven. Add tomatoes and toss with cauliflower. Sprinkle with cheese.
  5. Place under broiler for 3-4 minutes or until cheese is bubbling.
  6. Serve and enjoy!

A Note to the Diabetics: Cauliflower is a non-carbohydrate side.

Leave a Reply

