The Importance of Breakfast

Breakfast: A Modicum of Self-Control 

Here’s an interesting fact about breakfast:

People that eat breakfast are able to exercise greater amounts of self control throughout the rest of the day. In other words, because they ate breakfast, they’re able to make decisions based on health rather than convenience (a.k.a. I’m-so-hungry-I’ll-eat-whatever-I-can-find policy). This helps them maintain a healthy weight and a healthy body.

Unfortunately, only 30% of Americans eat breakfast, and even fewer than that eat a balanced breakfast. Most American’s fall into the category of cereal and milk breakfast eaters and this usually doesn’t cut it.

Studies show over and over again that we make bad decisions when we let ourselves get too hungry. Desperate eating can get a person in trouble really fast. The idea is that if you ate a decent breakfast, you wouldn’t feel quite so desperate.

A lot of people have a hard time imagining new ideas for breakfast. For that reason, I thought I would post my breakfast from this morning.

My Balanced Breakfast Menu:

  • 2 Slices Ham
  • 2 Fried Eggs
  • 1 C Wilted Cabbage
  • 1/2 C Roasted Potatoes (15g carb)
  • 1 C Grapes (30g carb)
  • Water

The best part? It only took me 15 minutes from start to finish to make it.

Smart Cooking Tips: The potatoes will take the longest, so turn on the oven, cut them up, drizzle with olive oil and get them started before anything else. They can be cooking while you get the other ingredients ready. By the time you sit down to eat, your potatoes are done as well.

A Note to the Diabetics: It’s a good idea to keep fruit on hand for meals like this that are low in carbohydrates. Without the grapes, I was considerably undereating my carbohydrates, BUT I was very close to my calorie limit. Fruit is the perfect addition when you find yourself in this situation. It’s high carbohydrate but low calorie. Not to mention full of nutrients that you need to run a healthy body. 

Anyone that regularly reads the blog knows that I cook breakfast for my mom and sisters on Tuesdays after we go running. My mom was nice enough to model her half-eaten plate.

In Summary…

EAT BREAKFAST. This is not up for discussion. If you want to be healthy, you’ll find a way to do it. :)

 

Leave a Reply

