The Importance of Good Company

Sometimes you get lucky.

A month ago, I invited my brother’s girlfriend to come for a visit. I live in Missouri and she lives in New York. It’s a bit of a trip – to say the least. So, I asked – thinking she might say no – but, she didn’t. She said yes.

I have a hard time getting people to drive 25 minutes to see me and she was willing to jump on a plane and fly half way across the country to see me?!? I am so blessed.

She had a couple of things that she asked to do…

  1. Cook good food
  2. Eat good food
  3. Try the strong man lifting
  4. Blog

Who am I to deny her of these reasonable requests? We’ve done all of them but one. So, I’m going to turn it over to my fabulous house guest, Abbey.

Abbey- My Esteemed House Guest

Hi everyone!  I should preface this by telling you that I’ve never blogged before.  My blogging premier! I’m pretty excited about it if you couldn’t tell.  It was one of my four requests for this weekend, afterall. 

Sarah and I haven’t spent much time together without her brother around, so I was quite glad to have an opportunity like this weekend.  That’s not a bad thing, but I was pretty excited to get a chance to get to know her better. And even more excited that she was going to give me a chance.

Cooking!

Sarah and I share a similar interest – eating good food.  I like to cook, too! But, a Sarah quality breakfast rarely makes it into my kitchen (unless its a Saturday brunch…) because I am not as much of a morning person.

I knew there was a 100% chance that I would get several opportunities to cook and eat good food.  As you already know, Sarah is very inventive in the kitchen.  I’d also call her a kitchen risk taker.  She’s willing to try things that I would never even dream of.  In fact, one of these risks ended up being my favorite thing I ate this weekend.  Sarah made me pumpkin carrot pancakes for breakfast.  As much as I love all things pumpkin, I was really looking for some apples.  In fact, I had asked Sarah if our pancakes could have apples in them the night before.  Lucky for mankind, Sarah remembered this. She cooked some apples in a skillet, added the canned pumpkin, a little cinnamon, and crumbled toasted walnuts on top. Result? Amazing.  I think if it was possible to eat fall, that is precisely what it would taste like. I plan to use Sarah’s invention to make a pumpkin-apple pie for Thanksgiving.  Two of my favorites in one!  (thumbs up)

Through the food adventures I’ve had this weekend, I’ve learned something pretty neat about Sarah.  I’ve always known that Sarah is a dietitian.  But, I don’t think I knew exactly what that meant until this weekend.  She knows so much about something that is immensely useful to every single human being that lives on this planet – how to eat.  That is so awesome to me.  And she is so dedicated to it and so passionate about it.  Do I always like to hear what she has to say?  No, because I am a human (and a American). I like eating what I want, when I want it. 

I love the tastes and textures of food.  And I don’t like to think about the consequences of eating it.  She has a tough job.  She has to tell people (like me) that they can’t eat all the ice cream and pie they want.

Very. Tough. Job. 

She’s the kind of person that can handle it though.  I’ve found that I admire her for that.

Strong man. 

I have wanted to try this since I went to see Sarah compete in a Strong (Wo)Man competition.  Despite the fact that my couch has a very close relationship with my butt, I really do enjoy exercise.  It makes me feel great, and reaching milestones excites me – like most other things cannot.  I go through spurts of different types of exercising.

I’ve been running lately. I’m running so that I can work my way up to a half marathon in February, and I’ll be competing in a triathlon this coming May. 

What did I learn from today?  Lifting is awesome.  I should start doing it again. Despite these new exercise goals, I have neglected strength training. I was an avid lifter when I was a rower in college.  I forgot how much I enjoyed it.  I found out today that I can lift and flip a 400 pound tire 16 times before my arms feel like they may fall off.  I know I am going to be all kinds of sore tomorrow.  But I don’t care.  I had an amazing time.  If I can’t move my arms tonight, I can ask the flight attendant to feed me my peanuts instead.

Blogging! 

I enjoy writing; but as an engineer, I don’t get a lot of opportunites to write things that aren’t extremely technical.  I also don’t have much (ok…any) training in it.  I’ve had fun writing this, though!  I am a regular reader of this blog and I’m always reminding her brother to read her posts and keep up with her exciting life in Missouri.  I have to say, after writing and editing this post with Sarah – I am much more aware of the the amount of time and effort it takes to put together a good blog.  You readers may not know this, but Sarah eats a lot of cold food because of the time it takes her to get the “right” photo.  Luckily, she let me go ahead and eat without her.

There is really so much more I could write about this weekend. It has been so much fun.  I love her and I thank her very much for letting me be a part of her weekend and her life.

Leave a Reply

