A Great Food for Diabetics: Chili

Fun with Friends: Chili Cook-off

There’s a chili cook-off coming up this weekend…and I like to be prepared. So, last night I invited friends over to help make the PERFECT chili.

I was told it had to be something innovative. I was told, “A regular chili recipe will never win.” I’m always skeptical, though… shouldn’t a chili cook-off include CHILI?

It seems like in order to win, you have to make your chili taste surprisingly UNLIKE chili. I’m not sure how that works. If I was a chili cook-off judge, I think I would take off points if it didn’t remind me of chili. Therefore, I tried to be creative… but I knew I would stay true to the chili taste in the end. I’m a loyal person like that.

A Quick Note about Diabetes and Beans:

Study’s show that diabetics have the best blood sugar control with CONSISTENT CARBOHYDRATE diets that are HIGH IN FIBER. <—See what I did there? I capitalized the parts I wanted you to get into your diabetic brain. That way you didn’t miss them.

The diabetic diet is NOT about taking out all of the foods that raise your blood sugar (i.e. carbohydrates). So, when I tell you, “Beans could raise your blood sugar because they’re a carbohdyrate.” That does NOT mean, “You should stop eating beans, they’ll raise your blood sugar.”

Why? Because beans are an EXCELLENT source of carbohydrate. Eat them! There’s three important qualities to a bean that help with blood sugar control:

  1. Carbohydrate – Beans are a source of healthy carbohydrate. You can eat them to get your allotted grams of carbohydrate for the meal.
  2. Fiber – Beans are really high in fiber. Half a cup of black beans have 20 grams of carbohydrate, BUT they also have 7 grams of fiber. You can subtract the fiber because it’s over 5 grams. High fiber things ABSORB SLOWER and never raise your blood sugar as high as the foods without fiber. Not to mention, beans help LOWER YOUR CHOLESTEROL and KEEP YOUR BOWELS MOVING REGULARLY. (How much fiber do I need? For the best blood sugar control, diabetics are recommended to get 40-45 grams of fiber per day.)
  3. Nutrients – Beans are a high nutrient food and a good source of plant protein. There’s a ton of goodies in beans to help you living healthy.

Tex Mex Chili

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb 90/10 Ground Hamburger
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • Chili Powder, be generous
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 T Ground Cumin
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 bag of frozen corn
  • 1 1/2 C butternut squash, chopped small
  • 1 can of black beans, rinsed
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 1 small can tomato sauce
  • 1 C Salsa
  • 1 tsp Masa Flour
  • Toppings: Cheese, Avocado, Cilantro

Directions:

  1. Cook beef and onion together and drain off any excess grease.
  2. Into a large soup pot, add the beef and the remaining ingredients EXCEPT corn and green bell pepper.
  3. Bring to boil and simmer for 15 minutes.  Add the corn and green bell peppers. Simmer for another 5 minutes.
  4. Top with chopped avocado, shredded cheddar cheese, and cilantro. Serve.

A Note to the Diabetics: Don’t stress yourself out trying to figure out carbohydrate information for 20 different types of chili. Try to generalize. One cup of chili is usually about 15 grams of carbohydrate. It’s okay to keep it simple. 

3 thoughts on “A Great Food for Diabetics: Chili

  1. would really like to have a chef like you fix my meals when that is the menu .sounds awsome bet it smells and tastes better. you made me hungry. like the kiss rule (keep it simple sweetness) or( keep it simple stupid ) ok, so most the time it’s the second one with me . this diabetic is not good at counting carbs so thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

