I’M weird? YOU’RE weird.

Yesterday, my friend said something worth discussing…

“You like weird foods.”

I denied it. “I like normal foods.”

He persisted, “No. You like weird foods. You eat beets.”

“One, beets aren’t weird. And two, it’s not like I eat them everyday. I eat them a couple times a year.”

“Still. You eat them. Beets are weird.”

I think because my blog is called “thebeetingheart” my friends automatically think I’m addicted to beets. I’m not addicted. Trust me. I like them. But, like I said before, I don’t eat them year round. Any of my regular readers can probably tell I go through phases of different foods – depending on what’s in season. You can’t find fresh beets all year round.

^^ A picture of the last time I ate beets.

Regardless of this fact, I have a problem with him telling me I like “weird” foods. What I like is healthy natural foods; but to him, they’re “weird” foods.

I think his viewpoint is very common in today’s society. The sad part is – my friend is highly educated. He was a high school health teacher. He’s a competitive athlete. He should be a person who loves his body and eats “weird” foods with me.

He should be on my side… but he’s not. He’s calling me weird.

Your education/knowledge is a privilege. You should not take it for granted. It’s valuable – use it, apply it, model it. Otherwise, what good is it doing you?

My friend is educated and privileged, but I would say he’s probably taking it for granted if he has time to tease me about eating beets. ;)

I’M weird Vs. YOU’RE weird

As a dietitian, I hear a lot of excuses about why people don’t want to eat healthy foods. One complaint I hear is that it’s weird, gross or different. It’s as if healthy food fits into a different category than “normal” food. I find this very interesting. Is it weird that I’m eating food that has been here for centuries? Weird that I’m choosing food that supports the upkeep and health of the only body I’ve been offered? Is it so foreign that I would prioritize my body’s needs above my wants?

I think it’s a little weird to be eating a combination of chemicals meant to imitate the natural flavors already provided for us. I think it’s weird that you feel safe eating ingredients that you can’t pronounce. I think it’s weird that you continue to eat these foods, despite strong evidence that it leads to a large number of diseases – which could very well keep you from becoming the person you hoped to be. It’s weird, for me, to see you choose a path towards a handicapped life.

There’s a reason why I eat natural (weird) foods.

The simple reason is that I’ve been educated to understand the consequences of choosing healthy and unhealthy foods. Every decision has an impact on “future Sarah.” I understand that there are two kinds of humans – 1) humans that buy into instant gratification and momentary pleasure, and 2) humans that are willing to make hard choices that model their learning. This way of living is not always convenient; but like an investment, it pays off in the end.

The 80/20 Rule

I don’t have to eat perfect all the time. I just have to eat well most of the time. That way, when I want to have something unhealthy, I don’t have to feel any regret or guilt. This is called the 80/20 rule. If I do what I SHOULD 80% of the time, then I can eat what I WANT 20% of the time. It’s about balance.

Unfortunately, I think a lot of people work the opposite way. So… maybe I am weird.

Come on. I dare you to be “weird” like me.

4 thoughts on “I’M weird? YOU’RE weird.

  1. It’s amazing in our field to see how few people like to eat REAL food, instead of chemicals and supplements. I see multiple people every day who tell me they don’t like vegetables. ANY vegetables. And I’m like.. how can you not like an entire food group?! Of course, Bariatrics may be one of the worst groups in general when it comes to eating habits, but it just amazes me sometimes!

  2. This reminds me of the time I bought beets, turnips, parsnips and all sorts of vegetables to roast and the young man at the grocery checkout had the hardest time deciphering what each vegetable was…had to ask him “don’t you eat any vegetables?!” and he said something along the lines of sometimes, but not these weird veggies! …….weird all the way!! ;-D

Leave a Reply

