Peanut Butter is…

Random Thoughts at Breakfast

This morning I was sitting at breakfast with my mom and sister. We all three zoned out and I realized we were no longer talking but staring off into different directions. I asked them what they were thinking about. They both laughed as they noticed we had all become lost inside our own head.

As we got started talking again, I looked across the kitchen and saw a jar of peanut butter. As I watched it sitting there all nonchalant like, it made me angry. Not because I think peanut butter is bad, but because I think peanut butter is misunderstood.

Because of a little misinterpreted jar of peanut butter sitting on the opposite side of the kitchen, my mom and sister were subjected to a lecture on food composition.

I’m sure they appreciated it. :)

A healthy – but confusing – food for some people.

As a dietitian, part of my job is to fight these little nutrition propaganda phrases my patients tell me. The sayings are usually partial truths that started out with good intentions and then fell victim to oversimplification; and yet, they are so readily accepted. One of these phrases is that “peanut butter is a great source of protein.”

“Peanut Butter is a GREAT Source of…. Protein?”

Really. I would agree that it’s a source of protein, but I wouldn’t say that’s the biggest thing it has to offer.

Here’s why I give people a hard time about this… there’s PROOF. It’s called a nutrition label. It’s on the back of the label on most packaged foods.

Nutrition facts for peanut butter

Let’s review the facts…

  • Fat – 16 grams

  • Carb – 8 grams

  • Protein – 7 grams

What would you say Peanut Butter was an EXCELLENT source of?

Tricky, isn’t it? I know what you’re thinking… carbs, right? ;)

I rest my case.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter is…

  1. Hahaha, aww don’t hate on the nut butters! Actually, I don’t have quite a problem with nut butters but what blows me away is people who can eat them out of the jar by the spoonful. Can’t/don’t/won’t ever understand that.

  2. You’re not taking into account the fact that the recommended daily intake for carbohydrates (225-325g) is significantly higher (2x as much or more) than the recommended daily intake for proteins (50-150g), since the average human’s diet is composed of more carbohydrates than proteins — you don’t need as much protein as you do carbs. Thus, 7g of protein (as it states on the package) is at least 10% of your daily value, whereas 8g of carbohydrate is only 3%. Peanut butter IS a great source of protein (and fat!).

Leave a Reply

