Journalism School, Organic Milk, and Chicken Bones

Tuesday, March 12th, 2013

This morning, I woke up as if today were any other normal Tuesday. But it wasn’t like any other normal Tuesday. On this special Tuesday, I learned three things that have changed my life forever.

1) Journalism School – Some of you know that I have applied to journalism school for my master’s degree. I found out today that I have been accepted! This would normally be a really great thing… unfortunately, I am newly in love with a man that is going to be moving to the East coast in less than a month. I’m pretty sure this is the man that will ask me to marry him and make babies with him. So… it’s kind of mixed news. I’m not sure I want to live apart from him for the next two years. If you met him, I think you would understand. He’s kind of a big deal.

2) Organic Milk – Right up there with finding out I’ve been accepted into the Journalism program is finding out that ORGANIC MILK HAS TWICE THE SHELF (FRIDGE) LIFE OF REGULAR MILK. This is an amazing discovery! I’m always worried that my milk will expire before I have time to drink it all. If I buy organic milk, I’ll have TWICE AS LONG to finish it before it spoils. This is great news. I have no mixed feelings about this news.

3) Chicken Bones – The third, and most unusual, thing that I learned today is centered around the skeletal structure of a chicken. Chicken was on sale at the grocer store yesterday. So, today I decided to make a roast in the crockpot with the chicken, sweet potato, and onion. I wasn’t sure how long it would take, so I cooked it for ehh….. 13 hours. I think this was a little much BECAUSE what I learned was that if you cook a chicken long enough, the bone will start to disinigrate. So, at the end of my day I have chicken roast with soft chicken AND soft chicken bones – I hate crockpots. (Okay, it might have been mostly my fault.) But, seriously. What am I supposed to do with this?

In lighter news… I made a really outstanding breakfast today.

Mediterranean Breakfast

Breakfast Menu:
Heart Healthy Sausage Mini-meatballs
Onion, Green Bell Pepper, Zucchini and Tomato saute with Feta Cheese
1 Fried Egg, over easy

2/3 C Greek Yogurt, Plain
1 C Homemade Granola with nuts (60g of carbohyrate)

A Note to the Diabetics: Notice I paired non-carbs with carbs. Half of my meal consists of free food (meat and vegetables) and the other half consists of carbohdyrate containing food (oats, grain, yogurt). Even if you can’t count carbohdyrates well, the least you can do is balance your meal with carbs and non-carbs.

One thought on “Journalism School, Organic Milk, and Chicken Bones

Leave a Reply

