News Report: Car Accident spurs Increase in Exercise

Some moments in your life are going to seem pretty dismal…

wrecked car

My advice: Try to see the silver lining.

This past Thursday, I was sitting at my desk going through my emails when the Maintenance worker came into my office with a nervous look on his face.

  • Worker: I’ve got bad news to tell you, but I’m not really sure how to say it…
  • Me: (Looking at him expectantly) What is it?
  • Worker: (Taking a deep breath) Your car rolled down the hill and into a tree. It might be totaled.
  • Me: (not believing it) Are you serious?
  • Worker: I’m dead serious.
  • Me: (totally calm) Okay, let’s go see it then.

My car is a goner.

I stayed pretty cool while I surveyed the damage. I told myself “It’s just a car. It’s just a car.” And, it is just a car. I performed all the neccessary collision steps and called my insurance, but in the meanwhile, I’ve come to terms with the fact that I might not have a car after all of this is said and done. The insurance company told me that if the damage to the car is greater than the value, they’ll just write me a check. They encouraged me to get all of my things out of the car before it was towed because I might not see it again.

That’s a lot to deal with, but I feel like I handled it with the best of them.

You know what is the most exciting thing about this news? I have a bike. I know how to use it.

Allow me to share….

EIGHT life improvements since wrecking my car:

  1. I’ve been wanting to start riding my bike to work for awhile now. This is my chance to do it. In fact, this is my chance to ride my bike EVERYWHERE I go.
  2. I no longer have to pay for car insurance or gasoline.
  3. I prevent myself from going on shopping sprees because I can only buy what I am capable of carrying back with me.
  4. By the same limitation, I prevent excess groceries and food waste.
  5. I get to spend more quality time with friends… while they drive me around on rainy days.
  6. I have extra money, so I can offer to PAY for someone ELSE’S gasoline.
  7. This provides a great excuse to carpool OR have your friends come to you.
  8. Duh… I’m in shape and can eat more cookies ’cause I burn more calories. ;)

How can you use the sad parts of life to get your body moving in the right direction? Or in any direction at all…? ;)

2 thoughts on “News Report: Car Accident spurs Increase in Exercise

  1. Your right, it’s just a car. One great blessing is that the car didn’t hit another car or person. You are a strong person and you will get through this, and in time you will get the perfect car for you.

    • Thanks, Linda!

      In the meantime, I’m loving my bicycle. Someone told my mom they saw me riding around town yesterday. He said, “I saw Sarah on her bike. She was going really FAST!” My mom’s reply was, “Yeah.. (nonchalant-like).. She was probably just racing cars.”

      :-)

      (To be fair, I was going down a hill when he saw me. I’m not REALLY that fast on a bicycle, but I get around just fine for my purposes)

Leave a Reply

