The American Baby Cow

The (Extended) Milk Stage.

baby cow

We Americans really like to pretend like we’re baby cows. Usually the milk drinking infant/child stage passes, but not for us. We love milk.

As a kid, I would critique the taste of each new gallon of milk. I would inform my mom whether it was a good cow or a bad cow that made our milk that day. I think she probably thought I was a little bit crazy, but she went along with it.

Some people just pick up on those subtle taste differences.

European Milk Experience

The first time I tasted milk in Europe, I realized I had been cheated in life. All this time I thought I was drinking really good milk – I had no idea it could get even better. I couldn’t get enough of it. I started asking for milk everywhere. I didn’t realize that this was going to set me up for a variety of different comments from the staff serving me.

“Oh! Are you a little baby? You need to drink the BABY milk?”

“Look at the American! She orders milk like a BABY!”

“I think she’s just going to drink it straight – like a BABY.”

I looked at them in return like they were crazy. I loved the stuff. I wasn’t going to quit just because they thought I was a baby. I did learn something though – they don’t drink milk as adults in Europe. They might use it in cooking, but the majority reserves the drink for infants and young children.

What an idea.

All of this to say that milk doesn’t need to be quite the staple that it has become. I think in America we tout the benefits of calcium in milk a little too much. We encourage people to drink it all the time. But, in truth, there are plenty of other things that you can eat/do to lead to strong bones. Not to mention, as you age – it gets less and less likely that you’ll be able to break down the lactose found in milk. Unfortunately, lactose-intolerance can lead to diarrhea post-milk-consumption… a benefit, only if you’re constipated.

Drinking Less Milk

Since I drink milk less now, I have started only buying half gallons and sometimes it will actually go bad in my fridge.

Luckily, I have found a solution: ORGANIC MILK.

Milk in Nature

  • Stays better longer (Sometimes the expiration is WEEKS past the other milks)
  • It tastes better (approaching the quality of European milk)
  • The skim milk version tastes like real milk instead of tasting like “milk water.”
  • Less antibiotics and growth hormones – healthier cows, healthier humans.

It costs more than the regular milk – but, I think it’s worth it.

A Note to the Diabetics: Milk is a source of carbohydrate. Every cup of milk is about 12 grams of carbohydrate. Carbohydrates do not change from milk to milk – in whole milk, 2%, 1%, and skim the carbohydrates are the same. Excessive milk consumption can raise your blood sugar too high. I would encourage you to drink it as a treat, instead of drinking it as if it were water.

Leave a Reply

