Steak and Roasted Vegetable Summer Salad

My first AMAZING experience with BEETS.

heart beet

Everyone thinks I must love beets because of the name of my blog. The truth is that I really like beets, but I really like A LOT of vegetables. Actually, I didn’t realize how much I liked them until about  5 years ago when I tasted one of the most delicious salads of my life.

I remember it vividly, but I had no real “recipe” per say. I had to try to recreate it.

Here are some tips on how to guess a recipe. I’m good at this… It’s like I told my boyfriend on our first date, I’m a detective.

STEP ONE: Collecting Clues..

  1. What ingredients?
  2. How are ingredients prepared?
  3. In what ratio?
  4. Is there a sauce/dressing?
  5. Does it taste tangy? Sweet? Salty?
  6. What goes on top? What goes on bottom?
  7. What does it look like when it’s finished?

I’ve always been a visual learner – so maybe that’s why these clues just seem natural for me. I know the difference between the way a roasted potato looks compared to a boiled potato. I wouldn’t confuse those two things. As you begin to cook more, you’ll be able to pick up on these differences, too.

STEP TWO: Be Bold with Confidence…

What if the recipe calls for something you’ve never done before? Well, why don’t you come up with some basic guidelines and wing it?

This particular recipe called for grilled steak. My cooking companion and I had no experience grilling. I told her a couple of tricks someone told me a long time ago and then I told her to “Do her best.” You know what happened? She did great. You never know what you’re capable of until you try it.

Recipe: Steak and Root Vegetable Spring Salad

Steak Salad

Serves 4.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb sirloin steak or flank steak
  • 1 large sweet potato, cubed with skin
  • 2 large beets, peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 Large onion, cut into half slices.
  • 1/2 C water
  • 2 T Cumin
  • 1 T Pepper
  • 1 T Salt
  • Olive Oil
  • Spring Mix Salad Greens
  • 1/4 C Almonds, toasted
  • Salad Dressing: 1/2 C Sherry Vinegar, 1/4 C Beet Juice (from roasting pan), 3 Tbsp Olive Oil.

Directions:

  1. Combine cumin, pepper, and salt in a small bowl. Rub steak with spice mixture. Grill over high heat (approximately 5 minutes on each side). Remove from heat and let rest before cutting.
  2. Cut tops of beets off, wash, and cube. Place beet cubes in small glass baking dish with 1/2 C water. Roast for 20 minutes at 400 degrees F.
  3. Cube sweet potato. Place on lined baking sheet with onion slices.  Rub with olive oil and sprinkle salt. Place in oven, alongside beets, and bake for 15-20 minutes.
  4. Toast Almonds for last 5 minutes of roasting time.
  5. Toss greens with prepared salad dressing.
  6. Lay salad greens down in plate and top with roasted vegetables, slices of steak and almonds.

Steak Salad

A Note to the Diabetics:  Each serving of salad is approximately 15 grams of carbohydrate (mostly coming from the roasted vegetables). In order to get the rest of my carbohydrates, I served this with grilled asparagus (free) and 3 pieces of grilled pineapple (10g per large chunk or per ring). It was plenty of food and very low in calories!

Big thank you to my brave steak grill master and assistant chef. :)

Leave a Reply

