Baby Sisters, Birthdays, and Mexican Salad

One of my baby sisters turned 20 today!

Note – Before I continue, I have to admit something. I missed my other sister’s birthday on the blog – I love you, Amber.

bri and sarah

Reasons I’m glad to be the older sister…

  1. Who else was going to to teach me how to tease my hair?
  2. You let me into your space. All the time. You always have… even when you were just a little girl.
  3. You’re my roomie. While I was sad that you were gone a lot of the time when we lived together, you were still one of the best roommates ever.
  4. I love our deep conversations on life – what it is, what it should be, what it could be.
  5. I like how people are quick to type cast you and instead of fighting back – like I would- you just keep smiling. Eventually, they realize their error. You let them discover things at their own pace instead of rushing things.
  6. You help me find music I’ll like when I can’t remember what any of the songs are called on the radio/CD player/TV.
  7. You play along with my silly games, even though some of your accents need work…
  8. Anytime I’m stressed out, you make it better. You work miracles for my psyche.
  9. You’re smart and talented, but you don’t brag about it. I feel like I learn new things about you all the time, and I’m proud of you.
  10. I couldn’t have asked for better sisters to come into my life. You’re perfect for me and I’m so happy to be here for you.

I love you, Bri. Happy Birthday!

Birthday Celebration Dinner

On our birthday, our mom lets us pick what we want to eat and we all get together for a family dinner. I thought I would share what Bri picked for her birthday dinner. I always forget how good it is… until it’s her birthday again and I’m reminded.

Recipe: Heart Healthy Taco Salad

Heart Healthy Mexican

Ingredients:

  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Mild Cheddar Cheese, small cubes
  • Green Onions, diced
  • Cherry Tomatoes, halved
  • 1/2 can Kidney Beans, rinsed
  • 1-2 Ears of Corn, blackened
  • 1/2 Yellow Bell Pepper, sliced
  • Crushed Tortilla Chips
  • Dressing: 1/2 Ranch, 1/2 Salsa.

Directions:

  1. Cook corn over grill or gas stove until blackened on outside. Cut corn off cob.
  2. Cut and assemble ingredients.
  3. Toss together in a large salad bowl.
  4. Top with crushed chips and salad dressing.
  5. Recommend serving with grilled chicken breast.

A Note to the Diabetics: I would count this salad as 15 grams of carbohydrate per serving. This easily fed 6 people tonight for dinner with my family. Very yummy. Do try.

Leave a Reply

