Reading Books and Making Salad

Reading Books

As a child, I would spend my summer vacations happily immersed in books for hours. I still got out to play with neighborhood kids, but if a book got my attention – I was out for the week.

While reading, daily life seemed to become somewhat irrelevant. I didn’t register need for food, social activity, or personal hygiene because I wasn’t living in the “real world.” My mind was lost in the “book world.” My dad or mom would occasionally come find me and remind me to come eat with the family or get dressed to go out; and, begrudgingly, I would set the book down and leave to perform my “real life” activities. But, I was always counting the minutes until I could get back to the exciting activities and characters in my books.

Every once and awhile, this will still happen to me as an adult.

Books and Real Life.

Eating while reading

I have more responsibilities as an adult. So, I try to follow some basic rules. First, I make sure I have plenteous time outside of work to read before I decide to pick up a good book. Second, I manage to cook and feed myself, but this is usually with book in hand. So, I can’t make anything too elaborate. And third, I make it a point to go to work instead of calling in sick every day to read my book. ;-)

Hours go by; and finally, on the last page of reading, I am released from it’s magical book spell – UNLESS, of course… the book has a sequel. If that’s the case, I’m off to visit the book shelf, library, or nearest book store.

I guess this is my addiction – since it does seem to consume me for awhile.

Heart Healthy Chicken Caesar Salad.

Healthy Chicken Caesar Salad

I did manage to get one thing made tonight – Chicken Caesar Salad. Very simple to make. One could even accomplish this with one hand and limited attention spent on actual cooking activities. I know this because I tried it tonight.

The dressing is light and delicious – a great alternative to the traditional calorie laden “Caesar dressing.”

Recipe: Heart Healthy Chicken Caesar Salad

Heart healthy meals

Ingredients:

  • Romaine Lettuce, chopped
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Chicken Breast
  • 1 Egg, soft boiled
  • 1 1/2 fresh Lemons
  • 2 tsp Olive Oil
  • Salt, Pepper, Garlic Powder

Directions:

  1. Pound out chicken breast to equal thickness (I did this with the butcher paper covering the meat and my hand as a fist – sophisticated tools are optional). Season with salt and garlic powder on both sides of chicken breast.
  2. Place small skillet over medium high heat. Once heated, add 1 T olive oil and quickly place chicken breast in pan. Let cook (WITHOUT MOVING) for 5 minutes. Flip and cook for another 5 minutes or so until chicken is firm to touch and cooked through.
  3. Fill saucepan with water to cover one egg. Set timer for 9 minutes after turning on heat to medium high. Once timer goes off. Remove from heat and rinse with cool water.
  4. Assemble chopped romaine and toss with lemon juice and olive oil. Sprinkle salt and pepper.
  5. Add Parmesan flakes, sliced chicken breast, soft boiled egg and lemon wedge.
  6. Serve immediately.

A Note to the Diabetics: This meal has no carbohydrates. Remember the goal is not to ELIMINATE carbohydrates, but to keep them consistent. For that reason, this salad would be a great paired with a dessert. I didn’t have any dessert at my house… so I ate a bowl of cereal – which is close enough to dessert in my mind.

Leave a Reply

