A Party Girl, Bartering, and the “Almost Diabetic” Church Man

This Girl Likes to Party…

alcoholI attended a political party last night with Adam and met one of his office mates – a girl who likes to party. She was the only other girl in the male dominated group; and even though she was “bossy,” I enjoyed her presence quite a bit. As we talked, she revealed how much she enjoyed partying and noticed that I was only drinking water.

Our conversation:

  • Party Girl: “What’s that?”
  • “Water. I don’t really drink that often.”
  • Party Girl: “I would like you better if you drank. You don’t EVER drink?”
  • “I drink on occasion, but it’s very rare.”
  • Party Girl: “I don’t understand you.”
  • “You don’t have to understand me. You just have to accept the fact that we’re different.”

It’s a simple enough statement, “accept the fact that we’re different.” But, it probably took her most of the night to grasp it. Finally it came down to this statement, “Look. It’s what I do for a living. I connect actions and behaviors to their natural consequences. Everything that goes into my mouth is evaluated. Drinking alcohol is not easy for me because I’m aware of the consequences. I also don’t notice that it makes me any more or less happy to be doing it. Why would I engage in that behavior if this is who I am and how I feel? Does that make sense?”

Finally, it did.

Finding a Room…

barterI’ve been visiting different churches in the area to extend an offer in exchange for housing. The deal is… I need a room for 1-2 month period. In exchange for this room, I can provide healthy balanced meals and a chance for the host to have their mind rewired about nutrition.

It’s not that I can’t afford to rent a room. I can afford it. But, why do it the traditional way when there is a BETTER way? You see, I know something about money. It’s not the only form of payment. I have a skill set that provides me with a different form of currency.

I am a healer. I am a motivator. I am an educator. I am a caretaker.

These are gifts that I can exchange for use of a room that some people only enter a few times per year. It’s not a crazy new idea. It’s an old idea. It’s how things used to be with money was tight, but services were still needed. It’s called bartering.

What ever happened to bartering?

I charge over 100 dollars per hour at the hospital giving diabetes education and medical nutrition therapy. Several of my patients wish they could just have me move in with them and cook all their meals. But, it wasn’t an option, because I already had a place to live and they couldn’t afford my rates.

Well, now I don’t have my own place and I’m offering an exchange of service rather than an exchange in money. Why does that seem so strange?

Let’s address our nationwide problems – affecting people on an individual level, and affecting our community, state, and country on a larger level.

  1. Debt
  2. Addictions
  3. Chronic Illness
  4. Loneliness

Where is the churches role in helping to fix these problems? Are we to recommend everyone continue doing things the same way? Continue “addressing” your problems with the same methods that have already shown that they don’t work?

Looking around Philadelphia, there are plenty of people here that would benefit from having me stay with them. There are plenty of people that need a new lifestyle approach. But when I go visit some of these churches they act like I am a homeless person asking for help. As if I don’t have my life in order because I’m not spending 1000 dollars per month on my own apartment. When is the church going to realize that this self-sufficient approach is not all it’s cracked up to be? One thousand dollars may not break me, but it will set me back. Unhealthy lifestyles may not break you, but they do set you back.

It’s an exchange.

Humans are not meant to stand alone. We are a part of team. I can offer one thing, while you might be able to offer an entirely different thing. I believe that’s why the church body is so important.

The “almost diabetic” Church Office Man…

I was at a church discussing this proposition with an office employee when he informed me that he was “almost diabetic,” but he lost 25 lbs and “that took care of that.” I looked at the lunch he was eating along with his 20 ounce bottle of regular Pepsi, and said something like, “Oh. I see.”

Outwardly, I hope I gave him a polite smile. In my mind, I was thinking, “Thank you for giving me a story to write about later today.”

Why do people do that? I’m happy he lost weight, but it’s a slippery slope to keep that weight off long-term. Why do people think that after they lose weight they can go back to the same behaviors that put the weight on?

No health educated individual who was honestly trying to avoid a diagnosis of diabetes would drink a 20 ounce Pepsi with his lunch. Sorry.

November = National Diabetes Awareness Month

A Few Facts on Diabetes:

  • There are 26 million people in the USA with diabetes. Ninety percent are persons with type 2 diabetes. Ten percent are persons with type 1 diabetes.
  • A person cannot change from a type 1 diabetic to a type 2 diabetic or vice versa.
  • Hypoglycemia (low blood sugar) is not the opposite of diabetes. It’s the first phase of diabetes.
  • Type 2 diabetes is hereditary.
  • Diet and lifestyle/exercise can affect how quickly or slowly you progress with diabetes.
  • There are plenty of “skinny” people who develop type 2 diabetes from their lifestyle choices.

Just a little bit of fun information on diabetes. Enjoy your day. Make good choices.

Leave a Reply

