Storybooks, Job Offers, and Diabetes Dinners

I’m convinced the longer I stay in Abington, the more I will start to feel like a character out of a story.

Storybook House

As a kid, I would read books about old neighborhoods with big houses that would be passed down to a family of witches. Or perhaps, I would read about colonial days when neighbors traveled by horse to visit their friends and family.

Depending on the moment, I feel like I could be a character in either of those stories. Frequently, I find myself staring at a house I’m driving past, wondering how many people know that witches live there. Or noticing a house that has to be one of the first built in the area. It’s straight out of the George Washington days. I wonder if he visited them for tea…

The point of this is silly, but also to let you know I’m enjoying the scenery in Philly.

Fall Scenery in Philly

Job Offers…

I spent part of yesterday driving around to different diabetes centers in the area. My intention was to introduce myself and hopefully build up my network. My intent was not to “get a job.” I have a part-time job at Abington and I’m looking into starting my own private practice as well. Regardless of these facts, jobs were offered. It turns out it’s not that hard to get a job in Philly if you talk to the right people… this is encouraging.

I’m going to check them out and see what they have to offer. If it works, I might just have 3 different jobs instead of two. Regardless, my days of worrying about being poor are quickly passing.

Diabetes Dinners…

I went to the best lecture on “Obesity” last night with the AADE (American Academy of Diabetes Educators). The nice thing about going to a lecture with educators is that they actually enjoy educating! The speaker was great. Here are some of the things I’m eager to put into practice…

  1. Music therapy has been shown to target the same pleasure receptors in the brain as food. Patients that are routinely going to food for comfort or “fun” can pick a favorite song that makes them want to dance. Every time they feel the urge to abuse food, they can play the song instead.
  2. Power poses to overcome your draws to food. Business people do this before a big meeting. The basic idea is to stand in a powerful position to signal TO YOURSELF that  you can do something hard.
  3. Family style or portioning food before sitting down at the table is a big question in nutrition. Her suggestion was to portion all the food before sitting down… with the exception of SALAD and VEGETABLES. These things can be offered as “unlimited” portions in a family style setting.
  4. “I’ve always wanted to…” Her suggestion was to encourage patients to figure out what they’ve always wanted to do, but have yet to achieve. Help them focus on those things for pleasure and achievement rather than on their struggle/reward system with food.

My friend commented these talks on obesity are usually a time when healthcare providers get together to learn and eat a meal that is completely contradictory to the topic. So, as a point of interest, I took pictures of all the food we ate last night.

This is what they serve for dinner at a talk for obesity…

Salad/Appetizer/Sides – Garden salad with light dressing and toasted pumpkin seeds, Tomato Basil Flatbread, Steamed Asparagus and Carrots.

Obesity Dinner

Main Course/Meat Dishes – 3 options: Salmon with roasted potatoes, Filet Mignon with mashed potatoes and mushrooms, and Pico de gallo Chicken with rice.

Meat

Dessert – Assortment of dessert shot glasses (shown in picture: Pumpkin Pie with Gingersnap cookie and Rocky Road)

Obesity Talk

And there you have it. Consider  yourself updated. :)

Leave a Reply

