Two Dreamy Ideas – Sidewalks and Squash

Confession: I’ve always wanted to be… a sidewalk performer.

Is that weird? I always love stopping to listen/watch to different people singing/playing/performing on the sidewalks. But, I especially love it during Christmas time. In fact, I want to BE that person spreading Christmas Cheer for all to hear…

A couple problems with the practicality of that dream:

  1. Until now, I have never been near a big city where sidewalk performances would be normal.
  2. I forget the words to a lot of songs, so I really need them in front of me.
  3. My guitar skills are mediocre at best.

I fixed the first problem when I moved to Philly. The second problem can be fixed with the shame of carrying music with me. But the third problem… that’s a toughie. I’ve been practicing guitar every night and morning in preparation for my big debut, but I don’t think it’s going to be ready. I am in desperate need of divine intervention or a willing accompanist.

I’ll update you on my progress, of course.

As I struggle with this reality, let’s discuss something more pleasant.

I stumbled across a brilliant combination of food yesterday: Butternut squash + Honeycrisp Apples + Cranberries + Nutmeg/Cinnamon + Butter + Honey = Everything nice. It’s right up there with pie. I love it that much.

Recipe: Baked Butternut Squash and Apples

Better than Pie

Ingredients

  • 2 C butternut squash, peeled and cubed
  • 3 large honeycrisp apples, large dice
  • 1 large pear, large dice
  • 2 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2/3 C fresh cranberries, whole
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Tbsp Butter
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 Tbsp Honey

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Chop the butternut squash. Toss cubed squash with cranberries and olive oil on a baking sheet and bake for 15-20 minutes.
  2. Dice apples and pear and toss with fresh lemon juice. Set aside.
  3. Remove squash from oven. Toss and add apple/pear mixture, spices, butter, and honey. Place baking sheet back into oven for another 10 minutes.
  4. Serve warm.

A note to the Diabetics: One serving (1 cup) = 22 grams of carbohydrate.  Enjoy as a lower carbohydrate alternative to pie. Trust me, it’s equally delicious.

If you’re in a hurry, you can also make this pan in the skillet. I did it the other day. It turns out just as yummy, but not QUITE as pretty as when it’s done in the oven.

Leave a Reply

