Perfect Herb Roasted Chicken

Life is good.

Perfect Chicken

I live in a house with two “chefs” now.

Seriously. Some of the food they make, I just shake my head. It’s soooo delicious.

House Parties!

I would say one of the best parts about my new host family is how much they love entertaining. I’ve never lived in a house that entertained so frequently. I remember about a week after I first moved in, I tried to politely mention to Sherry (my host mom) that I thought she might have “too many dishes.”

I mean, honestly. Who needs 5 sets of dinnerware?

She does.

It’s because she’s an entertainer. I swear. In the past 2 months I’ve lived here, we’ve used all of it.

Recipe: Sherry’s Perfect Herb Roasted Chicken

A few nights ago, Sherry made a delicious chicken roast and I asked permission to take pictures and post on the blog. She granted permission. So here you go, bloggies. Enjoy.

raw chicken prep

Ingredients:

  • Organic, free range whole chicken
  • Fresh sprigs of Rosemary
  • 2-3 Tbsp Herbs de Provence
  • 2-3 Tbsp Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Place chicken in a baking dish.
  2. Push 3-4 sprigs of rosemary between the chicken breast and the chicken skin.
  3. Rub the outside of the chicken with Herbs de Provence, salt, pepper, and olive oil generously.
  4. Bake uncovered at 350 degrees until chicken reaches 160 degrees. Chicken will raise the last 5 degrees after removing from oven.

Important Note

One thing I’ve noticed about Sherry is how much love she gives to the food she’s cooking. It’s almost as if every small detail is looked after in the most loving fashion. She happily tucks fresh herbs under the skin of the little baby chicken before cooking. She does not hesitate to check the temperature frequently. She does not mind opening the oven door, mid-roast, to baste the meat with it’s own juices.

And as a result, I happily enjoy the most delicious and MOIST roasted chicken of my life.

I’ll send you forth. Go and be like Sherry….a person that pays attention to the small things in life in order to transform the “good” experience into a perfect experience.

A Note to the Diabetics: Remember, meat is not a carbohydrate. So, this chicken would not have an significant impact on your blood sugar. For this meal, Sherry fixed a homemade cream of mushroom soup for (1 cup = 15g carbohydrate), the perfectly roasted chicken (0 carb), braised broccoli rabe (0 carb), and roasted apple, sweet potato, and pear casserole (1cup = 30g carbohydrate). Perfectly balanced. Good job, Sherry!

Leave a Reply

