A Good Breakfast Argument

Them’s fightin words

Pancakes for Diabetics

Yesterday, I was minding my own business at the hospital when some med students decided to pick a fight with me. (There must be something about being a dietitian that makes people just want to contradict you and push buttons. But, hey…it could have also been the fact that they were dumb boys that wanted attention. Who knows?)

Here’s how it all went down:

  • Me – Minding my own business, charting on a patient on the ICU floor.
  • Resident – Sitting behind me with a Coke in his hand “So, what is the big deal with nutrition? I figure I don’t have to worry about it until I’m older, right?”
  • Me – Looking him up and down, assessing for disease risk. “Your teeth will probably fall out from drinking that stuff. Are you also a doctor that smokes?”
  • Resident – Smiling, “No, but I don’t think  we should take out all the enjoyment in life. You gotta die sometime, right?”
  • Me – Not charmed, “You’re telling me that as a doctor, you’re still counting the NUMBER of years a person lives? You haven’t noticed how people with chronic illnesses are held back by their health condition? You don’t think you could develop the same chronic illnesses by engaging in the very behaviors proven to elicit these issues?”
  • Resident – Uncomfortable b/c I’m calling him out, “Yeah, I guess so. (pause) But, I don’t do it as much as they do. Plus, I can drink my calories because I never eat breakfast.”
  • Me – Thinking to myself – Oh, no he didn’t. He did NOT just insult breakfast. “You don’t eat breakfast?”
  • Resident – Shrugging his shoulders, “Yeah, I’m just not that hungry in the morning. I’m not overweight.”
  • Me – He’s right. He’s not overweight. But maintaining a healthy weight is not the only reason to eat breakfast in the morning…Making a gesture towards the junk food sitting on the counter in the ICU break room, “Yeah, but not eating breakfast leads to desperate food choices later in the day. Do you ever partake in that junk food? Maybe you wouldn’t have such low standards if you weren’t so hungry mid morning. Just sayin…”
  • Resident – Looking conflicted, “Yeah, I guess I do…” Quickly smiles (I won) and turns back around to work. Meanwhile, the other med students taunt him for being “shut down by a dietitian.”

Breakfast does more for you than you know.

  1. Skipping breakfast is a strong association with obesity.
  2. Eating breakfast jump starts your metabolism
  3. Associated with improved concentration and production at work/school.
  4. Regular mealtimes improve health/ associated with healthier lifestyles.
  5. Turns off liver production of glucose and lowers morning blood glucose in type II diabetics.
  6. Lowers risk of diabetes for people with genetic predisposition.
  7. Provides an opportunity for community and family time.
  8. **Helps prevent desperate food choices later in the day.

** my favorite reason

Healthy Breakfast = Protein + Fruit/Whole Grain + Vegetable + Healthy Oil

In honor of breakfast – I decided I would post some old breakfast photos for your viewing pleasure. These are recipes that did not make it onto the blog as recipes because I forgot. But, they’re all good examples of healthy breakfast combinations. Notice how easy it is to incorporate vegetables in your morning meal…

Diabetic Breakfast

  1. Spaghetti Omelet (a favorite of my sister, Bri…) Add high fiber cereal + fruit for a complete meal.
  2. Pumpkin Apple Pancakes with walnuts
  3. Eggs + Ham + Asparagus
  4. Heart Healthy Sausage + Eggs with cooked Greens + Fried Cinnamon Apples.

Diabetic Breakfasts

  1. Smoked Pork Chop+ Scrambled Eggs + Raspberry Arugula Greens
  2. Raspberries and Cream Oatmeal (made with greek yogurt)
  3. Gluten Free/Dairy Free Berry Cereal + Mushroom Vegetable Omelet
  4. Scrambled Eggs with Guacamole + Strawberry Spinach Salad + Cinnamon Apples with Pumpkin

Diabetic Breakfasts

  1. Breakfast Pork Chop + Eggs + Cinnamon French Toast with cooked Apples
  2. Breakfast Taco with corn, black bean salsa, chopped tomatoes + Kiwi
  3. Spinach Tomato Breakfast Pizza with soft fried Eggs on top
  4. Scrambled Egg Nachos with Black Beans, Green Onion, Cilantro and Chopped Tomato on Whole Grain Chips.

See… Easy Peasy. Enjoy eating breakfast.

Leave a Reply

