Monster Cookies – Take 3…

My Cookie Supervising Skills Need Work

My friend, Andrew, attempted to make his first (ever) batch of cookies from scratch. It might sound like a good idea to have a seasoned cookie maker watch over your shoulder while you embark on such an important journey… but unfortunately for Andrew, this was not the case.

DISCLAIMER: For me, the cookie making experience is all a bit hazy. He was probably making me laugh too much with his worrying about “following the recipe” or maybe I was distracted with “making my own playlist.”

Whatever it was, I was definitely falling down on the job.

Mistake #1

Initially, I thought I was doing a fair job “supervising” him. Piece of cake. He was a natural.

We were making one of my favorites – monster cookies. I was feeling sure of my cookie supervision skills, UNTIL the last step of adding the chocolate chips and M&Ms. It was then that we realized that we forgot to add an entire cup of brown sugar.

I’d never missed this step before. Not knowing what else to do, I suggested we go ahead and work it in. Andrew was game, so we washed our hands and threw in the brown sugar. We began working in the brown sugar with our bare hands. I won’t lie, I felt like a cave woman – going back to my roots.

“UG,” the cave woman gestures to Andrew in the kitchen using wide motions with her arms and hands. “COOKIES NEED SUGAR. UG. ME USE HANDS TO MIX COOKIES AND SUGAR.”

Don’t worry. After incorporating the brown sugar into the cookie dough with my bare hands, I magically transformed back into the wonderful princess supervisor that I am.

Tada! We fixed it.

We proceeded to scoop the cookie dough onto our newly purchased cookie sheet as perfect little dough balls. Placed the sheet in the oven and waited with anticipation…

…. like this….

….anticipation….

…woo!…

After ten minutes, we removed our “cookies” from the oven and were surprised to see that they looked very similar to when we put them in ten minutes prior. The only difference was that now we had balls of dough that were cooked. Weren’t they supposed to spread out?

I tasted one. It tasted fine (delicious even) but it suuuure didn’t look right.

Forgot Baking Soda

Mistake #2

As I ran through the possible causes for error, I looked over the counter at Andrew’s freshly purchased ingredients and noticed that the box of baking soda remained in pristine condition. Unopened?!?! Oh no!

I cannot say if the baking soda was mocking us, grieving the lack of it’s usefulness, or just patiently waiting. It’s hard to tell with boxes of baking soda.

Regardless, we surveyed the cookie dough we had left and made a judgement about the amount of baking soda that should go in. I was the supervisor; so, of course, I weighed in with my opinion. “It says 2 tsp baking soda, Andrew. How much cookie dough do you think we have left there? Two thirds? Okay. Let’s just put in 1 1/3 tsp then and we’ll mix it up.”

I crossed my fingers it would work. As a supervisor, I was working outside of my known comfort zone in the kitchen. Usually, cookies are so particular about mixing the baking soda in evenly with the rest of the dry ingredients before adding it to the sugar, butter, and egg mixture. I’d never messed that up before… what would happen?

With an air of fake confidence, I reassured Andrew that they would turn out this time.

We waited with anticipation.

… anticipation…

… 10 minutes…

Mistake #3

I opened the oven, and was surprised to see that this time they looked like they had not baked at all. I looked at Andrew with a puzzled expression. What happened now? I quickly checked the oven and realized that Andrew must have (out of habit) turned off the oven when we pulled out the first batch of cookies. Now we had half baked cookies (isn’t that a term for something bad?).

Without removing the half baked cookies, we preheated the oven to 350 degrees F… AGAIN. (Note: I would not advise this – the broiler element is a tricky thing to turn on when your cookies are half baked.) I had no idea how much longer to keep them in, so I kept an eye on them and hoped for the best! Luckily, I pulled them out in the nick of time. This is something I’m good at. Cookies have a certain smell that releases when they are done – I just wait for the smell to hit the room.

(I know what you’re thinking… No, it’s not the smell of burnt cookies.)

We pulled out our second tray of cookies and were pleased to see that they smelled, looked, and tasted wonderful.

After three major mistakes in a fairly simple recipe, we figured it was time to get it right.The third batch was perfection. I attribute this mostly to Andrew’s growing (by the minute) cookie baking expertise, and my shoddy supervising skills that had finally come around to proving themselves worthy.

The Moral(s) of the Story

  1. Sometimes you can mess up a lot and it still comes out just fine in the end.
  2. Be careful when you’re cooking not to “over correct” your mistakes.
  3. As always, practice makes perfect.
  4. And most of all, have fun while you’re doing it. We did.

Recipe: Monster Cookies

Monster Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 C Peanut Butter, crunchy
  • 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • 1 C sugar
  • 1 C brown sugar
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla
  • 4 C quick Oats
  • 2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 3/4 C M&Ms
  • 3/4 C semi-sweet Chocolate Chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. In a large bowl, mix the butter and sugars well.
  3. Add the eggs and vanilla. Mix well.
  4. Add the oats and baking soda. Mix until incorporated.
  5. Add the chips and M&Ms.
  6. Form dough into balls and place on cookie sheet.
  7. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool.

Easy… for some.

A Note to the Diabetics: Some people are going to lie to you and tell you that you can’t have a cookie like this. The truth is YOU CAN HAVE A COOKIE LIKE THIS. You don’t have to go and buy those crummy “Sugar-free Cookies” just because you have da-betes. You can have wonderful cookies. BUT, there’s always a trade. In order to have these wonderful cookies, you’re going to have to budget out some of your mealtime carbohydrates. For me, it’s simple. I give up the starch at my meal and add in the cookie afterwards. A medium homemade cookie is usually about 20-30 grams of carbohydrate.

Leave a Reply

