Philly: Reading Terminal Market

Don’t ever go here on a date. You’ll like it too much.

Reading Terminal Market

So, Andrew and I decided to visit the Reading Terminal Market this weekend. It’s probably one of the coolest spots for any foodie in Philly. I went by myself once, but it’s a lot more fun if you go with Andrew. If anyone needs to have his number, just message me. I’ll get you in touch with him for the full experience. ;) (Andrew, When you said I should never hold back on the blog…you meant that, right?)

Produce

I’m obviously joking. You guys don’t have time to be going on dates. You’re too busy… reading blogs.

Anyways, back to the date. All I need to tell you is that it’s awesome. My favorite place we visited inside the market is this little olive oil and balsamic vinegar shop. You can try all these different variations of vinegar that you didn’t even know existed. It’s so amazing.

Reading Terminal Market

Oil and Vinegar

A lot of people don’t realize how easy it is to make your own salad dressing with those two ingredients. I didn’t know it either. I learned about oil and vinegar dressings when I went to France after graduating college.

I remember sitting at this cute little Parisian restaurant trying to order my food in French. (Side note: I am terrible at French and I swear 70% of people in Paris know how to speak English, they just refuse out of spite.) Anyways, I had given up on French and I was trying to ask, “What kind of salad dressing do you have?” I remember their response distinctly because it was so kind… they looked at me with this “I hate Americans” face and pointed to a little jar of oil and vinegar on the table, “That (pointing emphatically) is your salad dressing.” (I wish I could type a French accent.) After one last look of pity/disgust, they turned to leave me alone to get acquainted with my little oil and vinegar container.

“It’s you and me, guys” she says to the oil and vinegar containers. “We’re going to make this work.”

But seriously, that night changed my life forever. The response might sound a little rude, but I am thankful. If it weren’t for that kind soul, I would have never known how glorious a good oil and vinegar dressing could be… and really – to get back to my original point – neither would Andrew.

On our first cooking night, I taught him to make a very simple Maple and Balsamic Dressing. I can teach you too. You want to learn? Get ready to read the shortest recipe ever.

Recipe: Maple Balsamic Dressing

Homemade Salad Dressing

Ingredients:

  • 1 part Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 part Maple Syrup
  • 1 part Olive Oil

Directions:

  1. Mix together.
  2. Shake well.
  3. Add to salad.

Gosh, that was hard right? Woo! I’m worn out just typing that recipe.

— taking a break —-

Okay, I’m back.

A Note to the Diabetics: I don’t always make this dressing. Sometimes, I’ll just put vinegar on my salad. If you’re worried about the syrup, you could use sugar-free syrup (yuck). Or you could count the carbs in the syrup (15g carb per Tablespoon of syrup or 5g carbohydrate per Tablespoon of dressing). Or you could just do oil and vinegar (for free!). All kinds of options… take your pick.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

