Almond Butter and Hot Banana Sandwich

A New Sandwich

photo 2(24)

To be honest, the only reason I even THOUGHT of making this sandwich is because Andrew said something about an almond butter banana sandwich he made a few days ago. I used to love peanut butter banana sandwiches. It’s only reasonable that almond butter and banana would also make a good combo.

After all, almond butter is > than peanut butter in my opinion.

I can’t say I’m wild for bananas though. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve noticed they’ve started losing their appeal. In fact, the only way they can still “wow me” is if I cook them. A hot banana is > than a cold banana.

With these brilliant ideas and revelations pouring into my brain, I had but one choice… to actualize the sandwich. It was up to me to make it happen. Luckily, the cosmos aligned and all the necessary ingredients were within reach.

Recipe: Almond Butter and Hot Banana Sandwich

Almond Butter and Banana Sandwich

I started by toasting my high fiber, whole wheat sandwich bread… When dealing with a banana (30 grams of carbohydrate) sandwich, one must cut carbs where they can. High fiber bread comes out to only 10-13g of net carbohydrates per slice compared to white bread at 15-22g net carbohydrates per slice.

Next, I got out my pan to heat the banana. One little of sliver of butter went to ensure the proper browning of the banana. Don’t feel guilty about this – it’s nothing in the grand scheme of things. Cook the banana on both sides for ~3 minutes or until brown. Sprinkle with cinnamon and remove from heat.

Banana

By this time, your bread should be popping out of the toaster. Collect the high fiber bread and lovingly apply almond butter. You can be generous and apply to both sides. I like the crunchy almond butter, but you’re entitled to your own opinion. Smooth might also be nice.

Almond Butter Sandwich

Once both slices are ready, carefully lay the hot banana across the toasted bread with almond butter. Take several pictures. Send them to your friends and family. Make post cards and send them around the world. Spread the word. Almond butter and hot banana sandwiches for everyone.

Peanut butter and banana

To round out this high carbohydrate and high fat sandwich, I added two eggs for protein. It was a quick easy lunch. You don’t haaaaave to cook eggs with this sandwich, but you caaaaaan. Remember, getting protein in your meals is important to help preserve my muscle mass. No fluffy girls around here. :)

A Note to the Diabetics: This sandwich would be 50 grams of carbohydrate if you use an entire 8 inch banana and two slices of double fiber bread. If you cannot find double fiber bread, my recommendation is to use only half a banana instead of a whole. This alteration would equal about the same 50g of carbohydrate. Other non-carbohydrate foods to have with the sandwich could be non starchy vegetables like baby carrots or salad.

Enjoy! Happy Thursday everyone!

Leave a Reply

