Roasted Cauliflower Soup with Curry

As a blog writer, you should know that I also enjoy blog reading.

One of my favorite blogs is by a girl named Joy. Her blog is called “Joy the Baker,” but she does waaaay more than just bake. She’s like a mentor to me – even though she probably doesn’t even know I’m reading. (Seriously. I must get better about commenting.)

Anyways, I was catching up on some of my favorites when I saw this recipe for Roasted Cauliflower Soup with Cumin. Immediately, I emailed Andrew (my happiest kitchen helper) that we needed to make this soup ASAP. Of course, he agreed.

You see, Joy takes perfect pictures. They always look so good I have no choice but to commit. But, I didn’t know what I was committing to… Everything happened so quickly – I’m embarrassed to say I hadn’t even looked at the recipe before the making day.

So, I intended to make this soup, but in the process of making Joy’s soup something wonderful happened. I realized that the soup was more than just “with Cumin.” It was a soup “with Cumin and Curry.”

DO YOU KNOW WHAT THAT MEANS??!?! It opened up a whole new flavor palate! I love curry the most when it includes citrus, coconut, and cilantro. So, I adapted the recipe.

Here’s the Beetingheart’s version of an already great soup! (Thanks Joy!)

Recipe: Roasted Cauliflower Soup with Curry

Curry Cauliflower Soup

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 Heads of Cauliflower
  • 3 Tbsp Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Curry Powder
  • 1 Tbsp Cumin Powder
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 Fresh Lemon
  • 4 C Chicken Broth
  • 3 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 Medium Onion
  • 6 ounces Coconut Milk
  • Cilantro

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F. Cut the cauliflower into medium size pieces and lay flat on a roasting pan (or a cookie sheet with raised edges).
  2. Drizzle olive oil and spices over cauliflower and roast with the 1/2 lemon for 25 minutes. Once finished, squeeze the lemon juice over the top of the roasted cauliflower.
  3. Multitasking – While the cauliflower is roasting, cook the onion in a pan with 1 tbsp of butter until soft. Remove from heat.
  4. Bring chicken stock to boil and add roasted cauliflower, cooked onions, and remainder of butter (2 T). Gently boil over medium heat for 10 minutes.
  5. Use a food processor/blender/or immersion tool to blend cauliflower to a somewhat smooth consistency. Return soup to pan.
  6. Add the coconut milk to desired consistency. Stir.
  7. Top with Cilantro and serve.

Along with this beautiful recipe, I recommend Curried Coconut Spinach as a side dish.

Recipe: Curried Coconut Spinach

Cooked Spinach

Ingredients:

  • 4-6 C Fresh Spinach
  • 1 tsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 tsp Curry Powder

Directions:

  1. Heat pan with oil. Add fresh spinach and toss.
  2. Let heat until spinach is halfway cooked.
  3. Add coconut milk and top with curry powder.
  4. Serve immediately.

A Note to the Diabetics: This is a very low carb soup. I would estimate 2 Cups as 15g of carbohydrate. The spinach is also considered a non-carb. Therefore, this is the perfect meal to have bread, fruit or dessert in order to reach your carbohydrate budget (45-60g of carbohydrates per meal).

I’m pretty sure this is a meal that would help turn those hands yellow… Exciting!!!

3 thoughts on “Roasted Cauliflower Soup with Curry

  1. Wish I had this before the snow storm! Can’t wait to try this! (Like… tomorrow. Yum) how much did it make? I mean…. Does the butter dilute enough where I’m not destroying my caloric intake? Can’t wait to have “yellow hands”…? ;-)

Leave a Reply

