Forty Days of 45 grams of Carbohydrate/Meal

Happy Ash Wednesday!

I’m supposed to be going to bed right now because I have a really busy day tomorrow. You know just a normal day… going to Vermont (a place on my bucket list for the past 10 years) with Andrew for the weekend. (!!!) No big deal. (Totally a big deal!)

BUT, regardless of my plans for tomorrow, I just couldn’t go to bed without talking to you fine people.

Today is the beginning of lent. Some of you may practice lent and some of you may not. It really doesn’t matter. During the lenten holiday (40 days of preparation before Easter), I decided I would start a fun project for the blog.

Forty days of 45g carbohydrate meals!

Forty-five grams of carbohydrate is what I recommend to most of my female patients with diabetes. It’s a great way to control your blood sugars and lose about 10% of your excess weight. So, everyday I’ll be practicing what I preach and taking photos of my plates. A lot of people would be surprised to see how much food it can be (or how little depending on the situation). I won’t make any exceptions. If I’m out to eat with friends, at a party, or cooking at home – I vow to stick to 45 grams of carbohydrate. This could get interesting…. :)

I plan to post a fair number of them. If you’d like to copy-cat my meals – feel free!

Here’s our first day of meals…

Day 1: Forty Days of 45g Carbohydrate Meals

Breakfast – cooked at home

Diabetic Breakfast

2 scrambled Eggs, 2 C fresh Strawberries (25g), 1 High fiber English Muffin (20g), 2 Tbsp Almond Butter, Water to drink

Lunch – purchased from hospital cafeteria

Diabetic Lunch

2 slices Whole Wheat Bread (30g), 4-6 ounces shaved Chicken, Provolone Cheese, 2-3 pieces of Lettuce, 4 slices Tomato, 6 slices of Cucumber, 2 Tbsp Honey Mustard dressing (3g), and 1 small Orange (15g), Water to drink

Dinner – prepared by friend

Diabetic Dinner

6-8 oz Raspberry Chicken Breast (10g), 1/2 C Couscous and Peas (20g), Spring Greens with Plums and Maple Balsamic dressing (15g), Water to drink

Leave a Reply

