Day 6-7 of 45g Carbohydrate Meals

These are the rules for 40 days. Each day, three meals, 45g carbohydrate each. No snacking.

Day 6: Started off great, went to work, and then attempted a challenging meal at Andrew’s apartment, shattered an entire bottle of red wine by accident and about had a melt down. Let’s just say I was calling this beautiful beet soup “Sarah’s Stupid Soup” for awhile. But, the only thing that’s stupid about this soup is how ridiculously good it is to eat. Now that it’s a new day, I am in LOVE with this soup.

Breakfast

Breakfast ideas

1 High Fiber English Muffin (22g carbohydrate), 1/2 Banana (15g carbohydrate), 2 Tbsp Almond Butter, 1 Orange “Cutie” (8g carbohydrate), 2 fried Eggs with fresh thyme.

Lunch

What to eat at work

I’m not too proud to eat the same thing twice! These are the lovely beef pot roast leftovers. 4-6 ounces Beef, 1 C Sugar Snap Peas, 1 1/2 C Mixed Roasted Vegetables (onions, carrots, sweet potato, white potato, mushrooms, leeks – 40g carbohydrate), 1 Small “Cutie” Orange (8g carbohydrate).

Dinner

Half Eaten Dinner

Really. This picture is hideous. But, that’s what I get for getting so flustered with this meal. I was almost completely finished with my plate when I realized I forgot to take a picture and I had no extra ingredients to restage. Luckily, Andrew eats much slower than me and this is his half eaten plate – which was very similar to what I consumed.

1 1/2 C Roasted Beet Soup (10g carbohydrate), 3/4 C Acorn Squash (12g carbohdyrate), 1 small slice of Homemade Honey Oat Bread (25g carbohydrate), Spinach, 6 ounces Ahi Tuna Steak, Water.

Day 7: I was in a hurry to get to work and left with only a few things to hold me over. Rather than set myself up for failure, I used my lunch break to eat breakfast in the cafeteria. Breakfast is the worst meal to skip because it sets the hunger tone for the rest of the day (for me…). Afterwards, I stopped by the store to pick up a few things to make dinner. I was told to “make something amazing with these eggplants.” What’s more amazing than eggplant curry??

Breakfast

Diabetic Breakfast in Hospital

Like I said, I left the house with an odd assortment of food: Beet soup, wheat bread, and almond butter. I decided to spend the three dollars and splurge on a hospital made ham and cheese omelet to go with it.

Ham and Cheese Omelet with diced Tomatoes, 1 large slice homemade bread (40g carbohydrate), 1 Tbsp Almond Butter, Water.

Lunch

Beet Soup

1 1/2 C Roasted Beet Soup (10g carbohydrate), 1 medium slice Homemade Honey Oat Bread (35g carbohydrate), Butter, Water.  Missing a protein… so I also ate these when I got back to the office. They count for something!

Almonds in hand

1 Handful of Nuts (Almonds, to be specific)

Dinner

Diabetic Dinner Ideas

1/2 C Lentils (15g carbohydrate with 14 grams of fiber subtracted!), Eggplant and Chicken Curry (15g carbohydrate) and 3/4 C fresh Pineapple (15g carbohydrate).

Leave a Reply

