Day 10, 11, 12: 45g Carbohydrate Meals

The 40 Days of 45 gram Carbohydrate Challenge Continues…

I definitely have some interesting meals for you here. Lots of special occasions…. celebrating a new morning, new marriage, and new jobs!

Day 10: This was an interesting day. I made breakfast and lunch for me and Andrew. Then we went to a big fancy wedding with TONS of food. I ate pretty well on 45g of carbohydrate, but I did have to leave some food on the plate and skip dessert (apple dumpling with ice cream). 

Diabetic Breakfast

Breakfast: 1 Cooked Pear (30g carbohydrate), Spinach and Beet Greens with Cranberry White Balsamic Vinegar, 1/2 vegetarian “sausage” link (5g carbohydrate) and 1/3 C cooked Potatoes (10g carbohydrate) with Green Onions.

Diabetic Lunch

Lunch: Smoked Pork Chop (I accidently burned it a little on the edges… whoops), 1 C Brussel Sprouts with Balsamic Reduction (5g carb for reduction), and 1 1/2 C Butternut Squash with Crumble Topping (40g Carbohydrate).

Dinner: Several courses listed below. Andrew and I attended a very fancy wedding. I was a little embarrased to be taking pictures of my food, but I did it for you… so enjoy. :)Appetizers

Appetizer – Raw Vegetables, Meat Skewer, Mushroom Crossaint (5g carb), 2 Crackers and Cheese (5g carb)

Salad and Roll

Salad and Bread – Caesar Salad (5g carbohydrate) and 1/2 of a dinner roll (15g carbohydrate) with butter… I gave Andrew the other half.

Wedding Food

Dinner – Chicken Breast lightly breaded (5g carbohydrate), Carrots, Asparagus, and 1/3 C Risotto (15g carbohydrate) … I left the rest of the risotto on my plate uneaten (see below)

Risotto - left on plate

SUNDAY: I got up, made breakfast, headed to church, ate lunch with Andrew, and then we went “food shopping” and came back with lots of new goodies to eat for dinner.

Vegetarian Breakfast

A little closer view of the vegetarian sausage, potatoes and spinach…

Diabetic Breakfast

Breakfast: 2/3 C Butternut Squash with Oatmeal Crumble Topping (20g Carbohydrate), Sausage/Potato/Spinach Stirfry (10g carbohydrate) and 1 small slice homemade Bread (15g carbohydrate) with butter.

Corner Foodery

Lunch: Two six-inch hoagies (Andrew and I got two different sandwiches and traded half of each): 1) Eggplant, Mushroom, Roasted Bell Pepper and Mozzerella (saved for later) 2) Turkey, Spinach, Marinara (45g of carbohydrate), plus Chips (that I did not eat) and a Pickle!

photo 1(37)

Dinner: I forgot to take a picture of my actual plate, but this is what we ate… 3 slices of homemade pizza with thin crust (45g carbohydrate)- this is a Pesto Shrimp and Goat Cheese Pizza. Andrew made it, very yummy.

Day 11: I was running late for breakfast, ate lunch at the hospital (provided by a drug rep – note what I did to fill up and not go over my carb limit), and St. Patrick’s Day dinner at home with my host family.

Pizza Breakfast

Breakfast: 2 slices of Vegetarian (cheese-less) Pizza (30g carbohydrate) and 1 medium pear (not pictured for 20g carbohydrate).

Diabetic Lunch

Lunch: This meal was brought in by a drug rep from a restaurant called “Cosi.” They were really good – but there can be some difficulty calculating carbs here. I had two half sandwiches (the Hummus Vegetarian and the Turkey and Brie with Honey Mustard) – which would normally be 28g carbohydrate EACH… but I tore off half of the bread for each one and left it on my plate.

2 sandwiches with half bread (28g carbohydrate), 2-3 C Salad with Blue Cheese, Pistachios and Pears (15g carbohydrate).

Diabetic Meals

Plus… I had some of this…

Carbohydrate Content

Dinner: Corned Beef, Cabbage, Carrots, and 2 peices of Potato (10g Carbohydrate) with Irish Soda Bread (40g Carbohydrate).

Day 12: My first day at the new job. A very early breakfast with Andrew and then I headed off to my new office in downtown Philly (!!!). It was great. They actually had food delivered there, but I had already packed my lunch – so I ate in my office. Later, I went out to eat with Andrew at a pub called “Good Dog.” Notice what I did with that meal as well.

Diabetic Breakfast

Breakfast: 1 WW English Muffin (25g Carbohydrate), Eggs with Vegetarian Sausage (5g carbohydrate),Cheese and Peppers, 1 1/4 C Strawberries (15g carbohydrate)

Diabetic Lunch

Lunch: Roasted Turkey, Spinach, Hummus, and Mustard Sandwich with one slice of Mozzerella Cheese and 2 slices of Whole Wheat Bread (38g carbohydrate), 3/4 C Strawberries (10g carbohydrate) and 3/4 C Baby Carrots.

Good Dog Burger

Dinner: “Good Dog Burger” Hamburger with Cheese and Carmelized Onions on a Brioche Bun (45g carbohydrates), Arugula Salad with light oil and vinegar dressing. (Not the most heart healthy choice… but you can have it every once and awhile….)

That catches us up for a little bit. More meals to come… I just keep eating… and eating… and eating…  :)

Leave a Reply

