Day 14, 15, 16, 17: 45g Carbohydrate Meals

The Embarrassing “Hold on, I’ve Got to Take a Picture of my Food” Days Continue…

Sometimes, it can seem a little odd to people that I want to take a picture of my food before I eat it, but what is really weird is when  take a picture of the scraps left on my plate. THAT really gets people thinking… What is this girl up to?

The things I do for you… :)

Day 14: Quick! What can I make for breakfast and bring for lunch?

Breakfast: In a hurry and needing to rush out the door. 2 slices WW Bread (40g carbohydrate), 4 ounces of Ham, 1 fried Egg, and 1 slice Mozzarella Cheese.

Lunch: Making use of leftovers! 2 C Chicken and Eggplant Curry with Sweet Potato (30g carbohydrate), 3/4 C fresh Pineapple (15g carbohydrate).

Dinner: A dinner prepared for me by my host mom. Asked to portion my own bowl and passed up the bread to add veggies instead. 3 C Ham and Bean Soup (45g carbohydrate), 1 C Zucchini raw, 1/2 C Cherry Tomatoes, 1/2 C baby Carrots.

Day 15: A long day at work – but oh so much fun!

Breakfast: Making use of leftovers! 1 C Butternut Squash Risotto (45g carbohydrate), 2 fried Eggs, 1/2 Avocado sliced, and 1/2 C Cherry Tomatoes.

Diabetic Lunch

Meals you can eat in the car

Lunch: Eating on the go! While driving actually… Uh oh. Turkey and Hummus Wrap with Spinach (30g carbohydrate), 1 String Cheese, 1/2 Avocado, and 1 1/4 C fresh Strawberries (15g carbohydrate).

Diabetic Dinner

Dinner: Bought at a grocery store down the street from my new office. Romaine Lettuce, Parmesan, Lemon, 4 ounces of grilled Chicken, 1/2 C Croutons (8g carbohydrate), Caesar Salad Dressing, 1 Pumpernickel Roll (20g carbohydrate), Butter, 1 1/4 C fresh Blueberries (20g carbohydrate).

Day 16: A day off, exploring Philly, and a date with Andrew.

Diabetic Breakfast

Breakfast: A Wrap consisting of: 1 Spinach Tortilla (26g carbohydrate), 1/4 C Hummus (5g carbohydrate), 2 Scrambled Eggs, 1 Slice Cheese, and 2 C spinach raw – cooked down to 1 cup. 3/4 Medium Apple (15g carbohydrate)

Diabetic Lunch

Lunch: Stopping for lunch and a reading break at a cute restaurant in Philly. I had no idea what I ordered at the time… 10 thin slices of Pear (7g carbohydrate), 2 small slices of WW Bread (20g carbohydrate), Arugula, Cheese, Fig Preserves (15g carbohydrate), Honey Mustard Dressing.

Devils Alley

Dinner: Eating out with Andrew, his brother, and brother’s girlfriend. I wish I would have ordered what she ordered because she got a whole head of broccoli as her side. Roasted Chicken with Cajun Rub, Whipped Sweet Potatoes with Marshmallows on top (45g carbohydrate), and Grilled Vegetables.

Day 17: A day hanging out with the dudes.

Diabetic Breakfast

Breakfast: A joint effort by me and Andrew. He says, “Brussel Sprouts for Breakfast???” But then he loved it. Ants on a log x 4 (15g carbohydrate for the raisins), Roasted Brussel Sprouts, 1 Soft Boiled Egg, 1 C Butternut Squash with Crumble Topping (30g carbohydrate).

Diabetic Lunch in the Park

Lunch: This is our packed lunch for our “Saturday slacklining in the park.” 3/4 C Pineapple (15g carbohydrate), 2 slices High Fiber Bread (30g Carbohydrate), 1/2 C Almonds, 1 C carrots.

photo 1(3)

Dinner: I know… the picture is not beautiful. This is what happens when you go out to eat with three “dudes.” Girl food isn’t really an option. So, at this “guy bar” I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich with spinach, marinara, and mozzarella cheese (70g carbohydrate for the whole thing, but I left some of the bread on my plate for 45g carbohydrate). The waitress asked me if I wanted “Chips or Fries?” I asked if there were any other options – this is what YOU might have to do if you go to a dude bar. She informed me broccoli was also an option. You see what I chose to eat… and what I left behind.

photo 2(3)

SUNDAY: Weird food and Bananas Everywhere.

photo 3(2)

Breakfast: I’ve had some weird breakfasts before, but this one tops them all. I’m almost ashamed to post it. I’m big on being able to “eat anything” for breakfast – not just the standard “breakfast foods.” This particular morning, I was running behind and wanted to reheat something with protein to pair with my cereal. Well here it is.. 2 C Corned Beef and Cabbage with 1/2 C High Fiber Cereal (11g carbohydrate) 2/3 C Shredded Wheat (30g carbohydrate) and 1/2 C Milk (6g carbohydrate).

Diabetic Lunch

Lunch: Salad with Cucumber, Tomatoes, fresh Mozzarella, Carrots, Balsamic Vinegar and Oil dressing. Turkey and Bacon Sandwich with Lettuce, Tomato, and Honey Mustard on two slices WW Bread (30g carbohydrate).

photo 2(4)

Sunday Snack: This thing is called a “Banana Whip.” Its a raw dessert consisting of “whipped frozen bananas” topped with raw cashews, vanilla beans, dates, and chia seeds. I asked the guy how many bananas he put in this little cup and he said THREE! So, I only ate a little over a third for 40g carbohydrate. Waaaaaay too many carbohydrate for a snack – but remember it was my Sunday, so I was being lenient.

Dinner

Dinner: A very exciting meal of Peanut Steak Kabobs, Zucchini Kabobs and Garbonzo bean tortillas (made from Garbonzo Bean Flour with only 1/2 the carbs of regular flour). I ate 2 Steak kabobs, 1 Zucchini kabob, and 3 Garbanzo Tortillas (24g carbohydrate – 8g each). I saved some carbohydrates for the Banana Tart (Bananas, butter, cinnamon and puff pastry) below. I don’t count it as dessert because there was no added sugar besides the banana. 1 Slice Banana Tart (About 2/3 the size pictured below – 30g carbohydrate)

photo 5(2)

Whew! That kind of catches me up… but I’ll have to post another big one later this week. I’m sure…

Leave a Reply

