Day 18, 19, 20, 21, 22: 45g Carbohydrate Meals

Sometimes it overwhelms me how many pictures I need to post. My phone is literally FULL of pictures depicting food that I’ve eaten in the past 20 days.

Day 18: Monday. The day I found out my mother would be arriving by plane the next day. I spent the rest of the night cleaning my room and being excited about her arrival.

Diabetic Breakfast

 

Breakfast:1/2 C dry oats (30g carbohydrate), 1 C water, 1/2 C Milk (6g carbohydrate), 2 tsp Butter, 2 tsp Sugar (10g carbohydrate), 2 Fried Eggs, 1/2 C Cherry Tomatoes. 

Diabetic Lunch

Lunch: My coworkers make fun of me for these sandwiches… and I must admit… it is a little hard to open my mouth that wide. 2 slices Wheat Bread (30g carbohydrate), 1 1/2C Chicken Salad with Raisins (15g carbohydrate), Lettuce, Tomato, Cucumbers

Diabetic Dinner

Dinner: This is a foreign concoction to me. But, I must admit, it was very tasty. Chicken Thighs, skinless with Curry, Coconut Milk, and Olives over a bed of 1C Cous Cous (45g carbohydrate).

Day 19: Tuesday. Work, a quick dinner with Andrew, and picking up my MOMMA from the airport. 

Quick Diabetic Breakfast

Breakfast: 1/2 C Fiber One Cereal (11g carbohydrate), 1/2 C Maple Mini Wheats (25g carbohydrate), 1 C milk (12g carbohydrate), 1/2 C raw Almonds.

Diabetic Lunch Options

 

A few too many carbohydrates, so I had to leave this…

photo 3(26)

Lunch: 1/2 Chicken sandwich from Cosi (28g carbohydrate), Small Signature Salad from Cosi (45g carbohydrates – 30g left in the form of dried craisins and grapes), Carrots, Balsamic Vinegarette.

Diabetic Dinner

Dinner: 1 C Pasta with Red Sauce (45g carbohydrate), 4 ounces Chicken Breast with Marinara and Cheese over a bed of Spinach, 1 C Broccoli, 1 C Squash, Tomato and Onion. 

Day 20: Wednesday. MY 28TH BIRTHDAY! A half day at work, then fun in the city with my mom and a Mexican themed dinner party with my friends and family. Afterwards, ping pong and dance party in the basement. Sooooo much fun!

HEalthy Breakfast Options for Diabetics

Breakfast: 1/2 12″ Wheat Tortilla (20g carbohydrate), 1 scrambled Egg, 4 ounces of Ham, 1/2 Medium Apple (11g carbohydrate), an d 1 C Milk (12g carbohydrate)

Lunch options for people with diabetes

Lunch: 1 Habenero Tortilla (22g carbohydrate), Lettuce, Tomato, Grilled Zucchini, Grilled Steak Kabob pieces (leftovers), 1 Medium Apple (22g carbohydrate).

BDay Dinner

Dinner: I admit. I did a terrible job photographing my delicious HAPPY BIRTHDAY meal; AND, I didn’t take a photo of the homemade Guacamole and 5 Tortilla chips (10g carbohydrate) I had BEFORE this huge plate of food. 3/4 C Grilled Sweet Potatoes (25g carbohydrate), Romaine Lettuce, 1/2 C corn and beans combined (15g carbohydrate), Grilled Red Bell Peppers and Onions, Cheese and 6 ounces Grilled Chicken. 

Day 21: Thursday. Quick breakfast with my mom, then work for 12 hours. Lunch with my geeks and drinks friends (to which I was late and requested that they order something for me – exciting, I know!). Professional diabetes meeting at a restaurant with very poor lighting for taking food pictures… sorry.

Diabetic Breakfast

Breakfast: Whole Wheat Tortilla (38g carbohydrate), Roasted Peppers and Onions,1/2 Avocado, Lettuce, 3 ounces Grilled Chicken, 1/2 Chopped Tomato, and 1/3 C Roasted Corn (10g Carbohydrate).

photo 2(34)

 

Lunch: Arugula, 3/4 C Navy Bean (22g carbohydrate), and Bread (20g carbohydrate) Salad. Cheese and Prosciutto.

photo 4 (2)

Dinner: This was at a Diabetes Educator meeting. Another terrible job photographing my food. BUT, to my defense, I was in a poorly lit room with only enough room for one plate. 2 C Caesar Salad, 1 Bread with Hummus (10g carbohydrate), 2/3 C Pesto Tomato Pasta (30g carbohydrate), Portabella Mushrooms with Brown Gravy and Mozzarella Cheese, 3 slices Grilled Zucchini. 

Day 22: Friday. Working during the day, then an Improv Show in the city with Neil.

Breakfast for Diabetic

Breakfast: 3 Clementines (45g carbohydrate), 1/2 Avocado, 2 Fried Eggs, 2-3 ounces Pork Loin (leftover).

Diabetes MealPlan

Lunch: 1 C Noodles (45g carbohydrate), Zucchini, Tomato Sauce, Onion, Romaine Lettuce, Tomatoes and Mozzarella, 1/2 Avocado, Carrots, Red Bell Pepper, and 4 Cucumbers. (I was really hungry this day).

Diabetic Dinner

Dinner: I told you I was hungry…. This is a salad + leftovers. Chicken Thigh with 2/3 C Cous Cous (30g carbohydrate). Spinach with Balsamic Vinegar Dressing, 1/4 C Pistachios, 1 C Strawberries (12g carbohydrate).

 

Leave a Reply

