Phones? Brownies? Not me!

My craving for a cheesecake brownie all started with…

“Look up from your phone.”

photo (3)

I watched this video yesterday on Facebook that essentially said to “Look up from your phone because life is happening right in front of you.” This isn’t new information for me, but it’s good to be reminded of it.

Unfortunately, I know I’m guilty of this even though it’s SIMPLE for me to talk to strangers. I even LIKE talking to strangers… and yet I let that advantage go to waste on a day to day basis. I’m too wrapped up in my phone.

Not only that. I feel lonely, at times, from being in this social media/web isolation. In fact, sometimes I feel like my phone mocks me.

Yesterday, I felt like it was doing this from across the room – so you know what I did? I turned the thing off. And, let me tell you. I felt amazing afterwards. Finally, I felt like I HAD THE POWER… which of course, I’ve had all along.

One good decision leads into a bad decision…

With my phone off, I decided to “increase my power” and take some time away from it. I left the house for a walk to Starbucks to get a cheesecake brownie that I didn’t need – but they were all out when I arrived. I thought, “Oh that’s fine, I’ll go down the street to Panera. They probably have brownies.” There were people inside the Panera, but when I went to pull on the door it was locked. Just minutes after their closing time. So, I thought, “Well, hmm. How about that Whole Foods Market? It’s only 9pm. Surely, they’re open…”

Nope. They were closed.

Ever get the feeling that maybe you shouldn’t be having a cheesecake brownie after all?

Yeah. Me too.

Leave a Reply

