Pancakes and ‘Partments

Introducing… the best pancakes ever AND my new apartment!Philly Apartment

Yesterday, I invited some friends over for breakfast at my apartment. It was great, but I think I might have overdone it with making pancakes. We literally had enough pancakes to feed about 14 people – rather than 4.

The nice thing about this error is that it allows me to have pancakes for my breakfast the rest of the week… AND I’m going to put some in the freezer for when a quick grab breakfast later. I know. This is smart. It’s how I roll…

You can roll that way too. Just make the pancakes.

Speaking of rolling… let me introduce you to my rockin’ and rollin’ apartment. To be honest, my apartment is not really anything to do with rolling at all… but I did need a segue.

Window

Sweet window. I know. :)

Recipe: Whole Grain and Nut Pancakes

Whole Grain and Nut Pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 C Oats
  • 1 1/2 C Whole Wheat Flour
  • 2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1/3 C Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/3 C Ground Walnuts
  • 1 Egg
  • 1/4 C Canola Oil
  • 1 1/4 C Milk

Directions:

  1. Mix the first 8 ingredients together in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Add the milk, egg, and oil. Mix until just incorporated.
  3. Heat griddle until water sizzles. Lightly grease pan.
  4. Add pancake batter and flip when bubbles form on surface.
  5. Enjoy with Maple Walnut Butter. Skip the syrup.

A Note to the Diabetics: One 4 inch pancake = 15g carbohydrate. Remember, it’s not a good idea to eat JUST pancakes for breakfast. Plan on eating ~2-3 small pancakes and filling up on vegetables, eggs, and meat as needed to finish your meal. See the beautiful picture demonstrating this above. If you DO decide to add syrup – 1Tbsp =15g carb. Budget accordingly. :)  

 

One thought on “Pancakes and ‘Partments

Leave a Reply

