Killer Roasted Mushroom

Vegetable Intimidation is Real

Huge Mushroom

Every once and awhile, I encounter something at the farmers market that makes me stop and go, “Hmm… I wonder how a person would fix THAT?” Not knowing what I’m looking at can be intimidating, but I am also intrigued.

Mushrooms are one of these food categories that I have just BARELY begun to step inside. It was about a month ago that I first encountered a yellow oyster mushroom. When encountering an unknown vegetable territory – my best advice is to ask someone more seasoned than yourself on how to prepare it for eating. After all, recipes are rarely needed for simple vegetable dishes.

If you find yourself intimidated by a vegetable, stop to ask for directions.

I asked the woman standing behind the table, “How does one make this (gesturing at humongous killer mushroom) at home?”

She flipped her hair with the ease of a person who is never intimidated by killer mushrooms and gave a simple, “Oh, the golden oyster mushrooms? I usually just drizzle some olive oil on it. Sprinkle it with salt, pepper, and fresh herbs and roast it until it’s golden brown and crispy on the edges.” I nodded my head back at her, gave her the money and prepared to set out for my adventure roasting the killer mushroom.

Recipe: Killer Roasted Mushroom

Mushrooms

Ingredients:

  • 1 Huge Killer Mushroom (Golden Oyster preferred)
  • 1 Tbsp Olive Oil, drizzled
  • 2 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Cracked Pepper
  • 3-4 sprigs of fresh thyme

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F.
  2. Place the mushroom on a bakers sheet lined with parchment paper (do not wash the mushroom, but you may brush off the surface for any visible dirt). Drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with seasonings.
  3. Bake at 425 for 20 minutes, or until edges are crispy and golden brown in color. Cut into pieces and enjoy.

A Note to the Diabetics: Mushrooms are considered a non-carbohydrate food. You can go back for seconds or thirds with no change in your blood sugar! Hooray!

Roasted Mushroom

 

 

Leave a Reply

