Living the Good Life and Fancy Carrots

I have to say… I’ve been in a pretty good mood lately.

It could be because of the carrots. Or… it could be because I love my job. I love my apartment. I love my temporary roommate, Pete. I love my bicycle and the nice weather. I love my workouts at Crossfit. And I love my friends.

Everything is so nice and enjoyable.

How often do we talk about when things are going WELL in life? I think we should discuss it more.

Getting Settled in the City

It’s 7 months post-moving from Missouri and I am finally starting to feel like this is home for me. I am definitely not “city-fied” I still make all kinds of Missouri-girl mistakes like walking out in front of traffic, flashing my cellphone at night, and getting into creepy situations at the train station. BUT, I am learning. That’s what it’s all about, right?

Life is just one big event. Some parts are really fun and some aren’t. Some times we make really good decisions and sometimes we try to do better next time. But each moment is a choice.

What are you going to do with your moments?

Cooking a Good Dinner can be a lot like Living a Good Life

I might want to try something new, but I’m scared to do it. I might not want to go through the WORK of getting a really spectacular event. I might make myself too busy to make dinner and then dinner really isn’t that good. I might not invest in the right things.

Try new things. Don’t shy away from work. And make time to have fun. Invest in what matters.

Nutmeg Carrots

I picked up these beautiful carrots at the farmers market. I’ve never cooked whole carrots with the tops. I wasn’t really sure what I was doing, but I had an idea. This idea happened to be a very good one. I will share it with you below…

Recipe: Pan Seared Carrots with Nutmeg and Coconut Oil

 Ingredients:

  • 5-6 Fresh Multicolored Carrots
  • 1 Tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1/4 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1/8 tsp Cracked Pepper
  • 1/2 – 1 Whole Nutmeg, grated

Directions:

  1. Heat a pan with no oil until very hot. (Try sprinkling water to see if it instantly sizzles.)
  2. Once pan is hot, add coconut oil.
  3. Trim tops off carrots, wash and dry.
  4. Add carrots to hot oil and sprinkle with salt, pepper and nutmeg.
  5. Cook until outside begins to wilt or change in appearance.
  6. Remove from heat and enjoy.

A Note to the Diabetics: Among the “Vegetable” category, there lies a division between non-starchy vegetables and starchy vegetables. When I ask patients to tell me which vegetables might count as carbs (or starchy veg) they usually bring up carrots as a vegetable they have to limit. This is not true. Carrots are free (7g carb, 4g fiber, 3g net carbs digested over three hours) until you begin to eat portions of carrot above three cups at one time. So, with that being said, enjoy your carrots!

Leave a Reply

