The BEST Oatmeal Scotchies

No mediocre desserts allowed.

Oatmeal Scotchies

I’m always telling my patients they should only have dessert when it’s the best. Why take in the calories on something decadent that’s meant to give you pleasure if it’s not that pleasurable? And so, usually I turn down dessert because there are so few people out there preparing really great desserts. Unfortunately, I am one of those people capable of preparing great desserts.

The problem comes when you find the perfect combination of ingredients for the perfect cookie that you are craving at that perfect moment… and then you have 16 of them sitting in your apartment. This is compounded by a roommate who is not really interested in dessert and does not help you eat them.

So… I may have eaten too many of these. But, I’m sure you won’t make the same mistake as I did. You’ll be smarter about it. You’ll freeze some of them or give some of them away. Or maybe you’ll run two miles for every cookie you eat. As for me, I will just have to work a little harder on my meals this week and push off the excess cookie slowly.

Anyways, I thought I would share these with you.

I usually just make the recipe on the back of the butterscotch chip bag, but I am always feeling like there is something missing. I decided to look up a new recipe – Paula Deans Oatmeal Scotchie Cookies and make some combination of the two. I figure Paula Dean usually knows what she’s talking about – especially when a recipe involves butter and sugar.

Recipe: The BEST Oatmeal Scotchies

Oatmeal Scotchies

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 C Salted Butter, softened
  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 C White Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 3/4 tsp Vanilla
  • 3/4 C Unbleached Flour
  • 1 1/4 C Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 C Butterscotch Chips
  • 1 1/2 C Walnut pieces

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Mix together the butter and sugars until mixture is creamy and smooth.
  3. Add egg and vanilla, mix well again.
  4. Add flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and oats. Mix well.
  5. Stir in walnuts and butterscotch chips.
  6. Drop large spoonfuls (2 Tbsp size probably) onto cookie sheet and bake for 12 minutes. Remove and let cool on cookie rack.
  7. Enjoy – hopefully with other people. :)

A Note to the Diabetics: You don’t have to eat sugar free cookies, but you do have to count the carbohydrates for the cookie you’re eating. I recommend counting carbohydrates for the entire recipe and then dividing by the number of servings made. This recipe makes 20 cookies. There are about 407g of carbohydrate for the entire recipe divided by 20 cookies = 20g carbohydrate per cookie. Budget accordingly. Please, be better than your dietitian (i.e. Use more self control than I did. :)

photo 4(24)

Leave a Reply

