Roasted Mediterranean Eggplant

I did not think I loved eggplant until a few days ago. Now, I am sure of it.

Eggplant Salad

One of the perks with moving from one part of the country to an entirely different part is getting to talk to people about their food. It can be sooooo different from the food I became accustomed to in Missouri.

People in Philly are very attached to their food.

Sometimes they swear it’s going to be “a life changing experience,” but it’s just like every other soft pretzel or fruit flavored shaved ice you’ve had before.

A few days ago, a patient was in my office telling me about this eggplant dish she makes for her family. The way she spoke about it made me want to love it – but I was wary that it might be a little underwhelming like all the other times I’ve eaten eggplant before.

It was not underwhelming. It was great – and I’m not the only one that thinks so. As I was taking the eggplant out of the oven to fix, two of my friend from Crossfit were sitting across from me. We had our doubts, but after we all tried it… it was three sets of two thumbs up.

This is one of those really great discoveries.

Thank you to the woman who was so “patient” while she described this recipe to me. Hopefully, this is close to what you were explaining. Either way, it’s delicious.

Recipe: Roasted Mediterranean Eggplant

FullSizeRender

Ingredients:

  • Eggplant, large whole
  • 3 T Olive Oil
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/4 C chopped fresh Parsley
  • 1/4 C chopped fresh Mint
  • 1/2 Red Bell Pepper, roasted
  • 3 T Red Wine Vinegar

Directions:

  1. Remove the top/stem from eggplant with a paring knife. Place eggplant on a baking sheet and dry roast for 40-50 minutes at 350 degrees F. Eggplant should be squishy, but not wrinkled.
  2. While eggplant is roasting, cut red bell pepper into big piece and roast over fire from gas oven burner until outside skin is blackened slightly. Chop small and set aside.
  3. Chop all other ingredients. Chop Eggplant into bite size pieces while still warm and add other ingredients. Mix well.
  4. Eggplant Salad can be served immediately as a warm side, or can be served later as a cold topping for bread or sandwiches.

A Note to the Diabetics: Eggplant is considered a non carbohydrate vegetable. I paired this eggplant salad with Mediterranean Turkey Burgers (non carb), 1 small apple (15g carb), and 1 C succotash (30g carb).

Leave a Reply

