Paleo Recipe: Spiced Acorn Squash with Bacon

I don’t advertise it… but I am a Crossfit lover.

  • I love doing those WODs. (WOD = workout of the day)
  • I love having a coach.
  • I love not having to decide what my workout will be that day.
  • I love lifting and working out beside my friends.
  • I love kipping pull ups (although, I still believe in strict pull ups as well…), handstands, and wall balls.
  • I love my muscles.

So, why don’t I talk about it more?

1) Mostly, I don’t want to hear people warning me that it’s dangerous.

Crossfit, like any other serious physical pursuit, can be dangerous. But, it’s less dangerous when you’re being smart about it and making safety a number one concern.

What usually gets in the way of safety is the ego/pride. A person thinks – “If they’re doing it, I can do it.” Well… maybe you can’t. There are people at the gym that can do much more than I can because they’ve been doing it longer than I have. If I thought I could do anything they could do… then that would be like me saying that all the hard work they did to get there was unnecessary.

I’m a person at the gym that would be happy to tell you, “This workout is not worth you getting hurt. You’re doing it wrong. Scale down. Stop if you need to.” I’m lucky that I workout at a Crossfit gym where the coaches are willing to say the same thing.

2) There aren’t many pictures of me lifting… because I don’t want to scare/intimidate you.

I’m not one of those girls that can post pretty pictures of me lifting weights and feel normal about it – mostly because I am past the point of my weight being “cute” and more to the point of my weight being scary. I’ve been muscular my entire life. I don’t like to be noticed for my strength/muscles most of the time. I just like to use them. This is probably just my self-esteem and desire to not be constantly on display to be judged publicly.

I also don’t care to post my weights or times on Facebook because the majority of my non-athlete friends probably have no idea what is good or average weight to be lifting anyways and my athletic friends (especially the former throwers) expect me to be strong and are probably crushing my weights in the gym everyday on their own.

3) Crossfitters are known for going Paleo; and people automatically assume I’m “drinking the Kool-Aid.”

As a dietitian, you have to watch what you say and support in the realm of food. I post one thing about paleo acorn squash and I can get a million (<

There’s nothing wrong with being paleo – I just find it more restrictive than necessary. Crossfitters do what they want. By mere association, I have started cooking more paleo recipes so that my favorite cavemen/women would be able to eat with me.

Many of them are eating FAR healthier as a “paleo person” than beforehand (mainly because the diet stresses meat/protein and vegetables with a little fruit/nuts and a lot of fat). So, I guess I am pro-paleo if that’s what it takes for you to get on track.

So, to reiterate – just because I post paleo recipes does not mean I’m telling everyone and their mother to avoid grain, dairy, and legumes.

Sidenote: Since I started eating less dairy with my paleo friends, I do notice I have a lot less acne. It’s a miracle. I am now considering cutting dairy out of my diet or at least severely limiting it.

Recipe: Paleo Spiced Acorn Squash with Bacon

healthy vegetable ideas

healthy vegetable ideas

This recipe was so good – I decided to post it. It’s almost the shape of a heart… so maybe it’s perfect for your Valentine’s Day dinner???

Serves 4.

Ingredients:

  • 2 Small/Medium Acorn Squash, cut in half and scooped out seeds
  • 1/2 lb of bacon
  • 1 C Pecan Halves, raw
  • 1 Tbsp Maple Syrup
  • 1 Tbsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 1/2 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1/4 tsp Cracked Black Pepper
  • 1 tsp olive oil (or bacon fat)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Get the Acorn Squash ready (cut in half and scoop out seeds).
  2. In a glass Pyrex dish, place Acorn Squash halves, face down, in 1 inch of water.
  3. Bake for 40 minutes or until soft to touch. Remove from oven, drain water from pan, flip acorn squash halves over (face up) and rub with olive oil. Drizzle Maple Syrup (1/2 tsp each) and sprinkle with pumpkin pie spice. Place back into oven for an additional 10 minutes.
  4. In the meantime, cook bacon and remove from heat. When bacon has cooled, chop into smaller pieces and set aside.
  5. In a dry skillet, heat pecans until toasted.
  6. Once toasted, add all spices to hot pan with nuts. Then add the maple syrup. Continue cooking in hot pan until nuts are dry again.
  7. Once dry, place nuts on cool plate and allow to sit for 5-10 minutes.
  8.  When acorn squash is finished in oven, fill with cooled pecans and top with bacon. Serve and enjoy!

A Note to the Diabetics: Half of a medium acorn squash is 22g of carbohydrate. With the maple syrup drizzle and pecans – I would estimate this to be around 30g prepared. Plenty of carbohydrates left for adding something else to your meal. This side would count as the majority of your fat for the meal – so I would recommend adding a lean protein, non-starchy vegetable, and 1/2 piece of fruit.

Acorn Squash Mash

Leave a Reply

